Whatever happened to peace?

In Death of a Salesman, Arther Miller’s classic play, Willy Loman cries out, “The woods are burning. I can’t drive a car.”

The words come back to haunt me now years after I played the part of Linda Loman. I’m thinking about the murder of Americans in the Middle East as our flag is burned. I’m thinking of thousands of Americans without jobs. And I wonder what happened to our land of the free and home of the brave, with liberty and justice for all.

And I’m also thinking of my children and grandchildren and pray life will be better for them. As a senior, I’ve seen many changes in our beautiful country, most for the good. The melting pot where my parents came to Ellis Island and made a prosperous life from scratch on their own. A reward for hard work. Everyone pitched in and that’s the way life should be. No slackers.

I remember playing with an empty oatmeal box, a string run through the top and homemade blocks; a piece of chalk on the sidewalk was so much fun as I drew a hopscotch form. Jump rope was another special game. Picture life with no television, all the fancy cell phones and calculators. No credit cards, cash only or save up money before you bought something. We listened to the radio as a family. Simple and a sweet time.

I’m not saying I long for the good old days. Rather my prayers are for happier times, more appreciative children and adults for what they have and above all, let there be peace in our country. We can’t change beliefs of thousands of years in foreign countries but we can get back to American values and the way we were.

 

8 thoughts on “Whatever happened to peace?

  1. There is still good, and there is still much happiness, in this country of ours. The problem is, the news media covers only the tragic and the bad. My husband and I got rid of our cable TV a few weeks ago, and while I went through morning news withdrawal for a few days, I realized quickly how calmer, how less tense, I was the rest of the day. I haven’t withdrawn from news; I read it on the Internet. But I choose what to read, what to believe; I don’t let some TV pundit tell me what to think.

    There are good kids, too. Although my four (two biological, two step) are all young adults now, they are very good, and always have been. Good parenting is out there. It has to be, because I look at their friends and they, too, are fabulous young adults. My daughter is at the University right now, having decided she’d much rather work for an international relief agency than on Broadway. She wants to do go for children less fortunate than she was–and we were poor.

    Continue to pray for our country, my friend. But don’t for one minute believe it’s going to hell in a handbasket, because it’s not.

  2. I agree with Smoky that there’s a lot of good out there. The problem is that our “news” has become “entertainment,” in that cable stations have 24 hours to fill, and they broadcast whatever they think will gain the biggest audience. I “unplug” a couple of times a week to get away from it all. I find that when I don’t, I start to drown in the negativity, and my life is too rich to allow that to happen.

  3. Oh, you are so right. The only positive thing I can think of is that many diseases have either been wiped out or there is treatment available for them. Remember polio? All us kids in the neighborhood had to take a nap in the summer afternoons, so we wouldn’t get polio..

Leave a Reply

