3/17/13 WEWRIWA

Charmaine Headshot for Author CentralTop of the mornin’ to you, friends and writers on this snowy St. Patrick’s Day. Thanks for the great feedback last week. Here I go with my senior romance and a little conflict thrown in to keep it interesting.

“Girls, you know your Grandfather loves you but he has a bad boo-boo on his knee and it hurts him when you sit on it so I have a secret in my bag of tricks to make him feel better.” I patted the seats on either side of me and they slid off Collin’s lap and scrambled next to me.

Busy with unzipping my bag, I still caught Collin’s gruff voice asking Karen about her husband. “And where’s John today with you off gallivanting with the girls?”

“Oh, Daddy, he’s parking the car. We thought it would be nice to keep you company on this special day.”

I pulled out my sketch pad and charcoal pencil, never leave home without it, and quickly drew first little Ellen and then Jane, smiling faces and blond curly hair tumbling to their shoulders. As an author and illustrator of children’s books it wasn’t a big deal but Collin’s blue eyes twinkled with pleasure, the twins squealed and showed their mom who lowered her chin like the proverbial bull in a china shop ready to break something.

for more snippets: http://wewriwe.com

http://www.vanillaheartbooksandauthors.com/Charmaine_Gordon.html

36 thoughts on “3/17/13 WEWRIWA

  1. I really like the development of this tale. I’d put a period between “with pleasure” and “the twins” and start a new sentence, but I really like the way you’ve illustrated the different emotions of the characters with so few words.

  2. What is wrong with the daughter? I really hate such disagreeable people! But yes, they do make for good conflict. I love the two older people together. Can’t wait for more.

  3. As I recall, a year or two after my mother died, my father said something about all the women of the church were getting out their running shoes. One of my sisters suggested he get out his! (The second marriage was a happy one.)

  4. It’s just a drawing, for crying out loud. What is Karen’s problem? And which special day is it? Also, do I detect a note of displeasure in Collin regarding his son-in-law, or is it just Karen’s attitude that has him bothered? Leaving us with so many questions.

    Great work!

  5. I love the description of the girls and how you brought it in. Collin’s daughter seems pretty rude in comparison to her daughters! It doesn’t look like it’s going to pan out to be a fun lunch!

Leave a Reply

