4/14/13 WEWRIWA

Welcome to another eight sentences on Sunday. This week I continue with two seniors–the widow in a black bathing suit–, the Jersey shore, grandchildren and let’s see what develops. Mischief, I’m sure, one step at a time.

excerpt in eight:

I sat down, stretched out and greased up with one eye on Patti who had playmates to keep her busy and where did Ralph settle down? As if we had adjoining rooms, he set up camp next to me. The beach was crowded but really. . .not that crowded with lots of sandy real estate to spread out. I ignored him, removed pen and notebook from the old carryall and began to write a story lurking in the shadows of my mind.

A shipwreck with all passengers lost save one; a girl swims to shore. The wind blows her blond tresses dry as she strides on the sand, a trail of footprints in her wake. Her name is Claire.

Rereading the few lines I’d written, I thought this sounds as if Shakespeare wrote it; Twelfth Night; what in the world is going on?

http://www.WEWRIWA.com   for more snippets from the fine authors here

 

please share and like The Catch, my new novel just released. I’d appreciate your support. Thank you.

http://www.amazon.com/dp/0615792545

http://www.amazon.com/The-Catch-ebook/dp/B00BUGFI2I

The Catch CVR 3

Blurb

Tom Donnelly, once known as The Catch – every woman’s dream guy, has fallen down every rung of the ladder he once worked so hard to climb. On New Year’s Day, he realizes just how far he’s fallen, and makes a list of resolutions to change his life. He vows to regain the trust lost from his family, his law firm, and his friends – and maybe even find the right woman this time.

He crosses paths with Joanne McKenna Friedman – a smart young lawyer, beautiful on the outside, damaged on the inside. Joanne’s secret past leaves her distrustful of everyone. Until a court case comes up to threaten her career and even her life, and she turns to Tom for help.

43 thoughts on “4/14/13 WEWRIWA

  1. What I love about your writing Charmaine is the sense of realness to it. I love that she’s sitting there writing. I can easily picture all of it. Love her thoughts about her writing. Don’t we all think something like that at some point? Terrific snippet.

  2. Oh, I can so relate to her. Not that anything I’ve ever written sounded like it was penned by William Shakespear…more like Borus the Bear. Unfortunately I can’t blame my writing on a male distraction. Enjoyed your excerpt.

  3. This is so good, Charmaine. It’s fluid and quite visual. I love the beginning of the story that was lurking in the shadows of her mind. ! Great 8! 🙂

    Oh–and you are welcome for the tweet. Anytime– I try to catch twitter a couple of days a week, and if I find a tweet @teresa_willow, I’ll happily retweet it. I think writers helping writers is such an awesome thing!

Leave a Reply

