A Moment with Billy Crystal

1989. Home from the funeral of my husband, the phone rang. A casting agent had a job for me, one week on a movie. “Thanks, Todd, I won’t be able to work for about two weeks. My husband just. . .died.” Silence on the line. “How about in two weeks, I have another week on the same movie.” “Okay.” He rattled off date, call time and place and rang off. Friends milled about as me, newly widowed, marked the date and the place. Work would help, I thought.

Billy Crystal and Meg Ryan

The shoot was at the funny shaped building that juts out way downtown NYC. Can’t recall the name because the time remains a blur. A wedding scene where Carrie Fisher marries Bruno Kirby, the second leads. During a break, Billy Crystal called Carrie to the stage where the band sat and she sang “It Had To Be You” Director Rob Reiner joined in when we all began to sing. What a sweet time.

Driving home I cried, tears flowed as I paid the toll over the George Washington Bridge to head north. Sobbing all the way home to my empty home, I wondered how I’d live the rest of my life without my love.  Eventually I put one foot after another, became an author and wrote Romance/Suspense with survive and thrive as the theme running through.

Thanks for your support, my friends.Charmaine Headshot for Author Central

http://www.freado.com/book/14856/the-catch

 

16 thoughts on “A Moment with Billy Crystal

  1. Oh, such a bittersweet post, Charmaine! You were so young when you lost him!

    Thanks for being so strong, and instead of letting bitterness consume you–you put one foot in front of the other and ended sharing your wonderful stories with so many people. 🙂

  2. I only came across your post because When Harry Met Sally is one of my favourite films, but I’m glad I did. This piece is moving and inspirational.and I just wanted to thank you for sharing it.

  3. What a bittersweet memory Charmaine. My heart goes out to you. So glad you were able to lose yourself in your work and “survive and thrive”. Love your writing!

Leave a Reply

