A moment With Henny Youngman. . .

 

The call came in. My agent said they needed me to be in the audience for a television show starring the old comedian, Henny Youngman. OMG! Ecstatic, I drove to the studio and waited. When he walked on stage, violin in hand, we rose to give him a standing ovation. He didn’t wait for a cue but got right to it firing his famous one liners surprising the young director. No rehearsal, no 5,4,3,2,1 count. Mr.Youngman had no time to waste. Thanks to Brainy Quotes on Google for the following:

He began with his most famous, “Take my wife. . .please.” We roared with laughter.

“If you come home to candlelight, soft music. . .you’re in the wrong house.”

“I’ve got all the money I’ll ever need, if I die by four o’clock.”

“I told the doctor I broke my leg in two places. He told me to stop going to those places.”

When I read about the evils of drinking, I stopped reading.”

“My grandmother is eighty and still doesn’t need glasses. She drinks right out of the bottle.”

The point is the comedians from yesteryear didn’t use foul language to get a laugh. The foibles of life are funny enough without toilet humor. Henny Youngman, straight faced-a gifted violinist–punctuated his one liners with a flourish from his violin. If you were lucky, he played. Born in 1906, he died in 1991 and buried next to his wife, Sadie.Henny Youngman.jpg

Thank you for joining in my trip down memory lane and a sweet time.

 

5 thoughts on “A moment With Henny Youngman. . .

  1. I know what you mean. I loved George Carlin when he was “The Hippy Dippy Mail Man” long before he toured the colleges and used all the cussing in his show. And nobody could beat Red Skelton and his wonderful humor!

  2. George Burns, Bob Hope, Sid Caesar……lots of old-time comedians never said a bad word. I saw Bob Hope at Fort Sill OK when I was about six or seven. My parents didn’t worry about taking me to his show.

Leave a Reply

