7/28/13 WEWRIWA

Welcome to WEWRIWA where writers post eight sentences of drama, humor, and bring joy to all who take the time to read the excerpts. I appreciate your constructive comments and I’ve learned so much from all of you.

This week I continue with Reconstructing Charlie as she and her mother make a plan to get her out of the dreadful situation. Midnight. Charlie is at the station waiting to board the next bus to Chicago where an aunt and uncle she didn’t know existed, live on Lake Shore Drive.

 

Fifteen years old traveling alone the first thing I did was head for the restroom.

I’d play this new life like a game of chess, think moves ahead and when I got to Chicago, I’d change into mom’s dress and clean up to make a nice impression on Aunt Eleanor and Uncle Stuart.

But what if they hate me and slam the door in my face? Not possible, kid ‘cause you’re dynamite ever since you started school, teachers talked about you when they didn’t know you were listening; smart, they said with lots of potential.

I felt like a thief opening mom’s letter to her sister but couldn’t resist and careful, so careful not to tear the envelope, I found mom hadn’t sealed it.

Dear Eleanor, Sixteen years have gone by since your foolish sister ran away and I am so sorry I didn’t listen to you and Stuart. Please embrace my daughter, Charlotte, and make her your own since I cannot provide proper care for this gifted and brave girl.

Your sister, Elizabeth

I folded the letter and returned it to the envelope wondering if the tear stains were mom’s or mine?

http://www.wewriwa.com

http://www.amazon.com/Reconstructing-Charlie-Charmaine-Gordon/dp/1935407910 Reconstructing Charlie new eyes

24 thoughts on “7/28/13 WEWRIWA

Leave a Reply

