9/29/13 WEWRIWA

all 3 for print cover

This has been quite a week, a juxstaposition of sadness and joy. Our precious cat-one of three- my little boyfriend named Blue, became ill and nothing could save him. The incomparable care of The Vet at the Barn, Dr. B, Dr. Shane, and nurse Kristen shared my grief as he went to sleep. And then joy when To Be Continued, my first book with Vanilla Heart, was optioned for a television movie and finally the Mature Romance series of three stories is now available in print. Today my eight is one new to wewriwa. Before the Final Curtain, third story in the series.

Blurb:  Once lovers, two aging actors collide on stage as stars in a romantic comedy written and directed by a manipulative director. Add to the mix the talented assistant, a tough stage manager, one prominent costume designer, two young actors, secrets and gossip. Show business. There’s no business like it.

excerpt in eight:
Gazing around her spacious room Becca Morgan took in the awards cabinet with polished Tony’s, Emmy’s, Golden Globes and plaques—tributes to past performances. Tears trickled down her thin face no longer young as she thought get over yourself; starring roles aren‘t written for seventy year old women, not since Katherine Hepburn.
The cell phone shattered the peaceful moment with her favorite tune, Happy Days Are Here Again and her heart beat a little faster in recognition of the voice of Randall Sloan, the powerful director she’d worked with many times in the old days when he was called Randy apropos of his philandering.

“Becca love, I’ve written a new play perfect for you unless you’re not interested,” and he laughed, a smug familiar sound that hadn’t changed.
His voice deepened to a sexy growl. “You’re the lead in my play Titled “Honor Thy Mother, Please”, a poignant comedy, small cast.”

She knew he loved to be begged and Becca said, “You know me, Randy, I can’t wait, not even for a few minutes so please tell me about her and what happens.”.
“She’s a lonely widow who lets her daughter and son-in-law towel move in with her and when they abuse the privilege and treat her as if she’s no longer capable, when they’re at work she goes to a bar and meets a man and oh, your costume in part of Act One is a towel so you better get in good shape.”
For more snippets
http://www.wewriwa.com

http://www.amazon.com/Beginning-Not-End-Stories-Passion-Suspense/dp/0615888240

 

25 thoughts on “9/29/13 WEWRIWA

  1. I’m guessing you didn’t want towel after son-in-law. 🙂 her in just a towel at her age must send her for a loop. I love this. Nice to see some stories with the older set. I think it’s great!
    (No 8 for me this week.)

  2. I’m sorry about your little boyfriend. I truly am. I’ve been there. It’s so hard to make that call, and then to watch them go. Heartbreaking…

    This week’s 8: The towel–awesome, Charmaine. 🙂 I can’t wait to read this one! You keep me in stories, dear girl.

    And what an up and down week for you. I feel like I need to hoot and holler for you–a TV movie!

    Char, we’ll all be tickled to say, “I knew her when…” 🙂

    A big hug to you.

    • I knew me when, too. My first dear husband is up there shouting, “That’s my girl!” Ah well. Meanwhile back at the ranch, I had so much fun writing Before the Final Curtain. You know how pieces of your own life fall onto the page as you write? I actually wore a blanket in one act in a play off Broadway when I was seventy something and still had a voice. I’m still in shape but then, my skin was, shall we say, smoother. Thanks for your support and sympathy, Teresa.

  3. I’m so very sorry to hear about your cat, so hard to lose a family member pet like that…

    But wow, terrific news about the TV movie! I’ll be glued to the screen that day. Congratulations! And today’s excerpt was fun and leaves me wanting to keep reading this book for the rest of the morning. (Is it just me or did the word towel creep in after the word son-in-law where it doesn’t quite belong? Which did NOT affect how much I enjoyed the snippet…) Maybe in the afternoon…it’s on my kindle…

  4. Sorry to hear of Blue. And congrats on the TV Movie! I loved your eights this week but cringed about the towel. As a woman of a certain age (cough, cough), I don’t even look at MYSELF in just a towel. Well done, Charmaine!

  5. Doesn’t sound at all like the kind of person you want to work for… in only a few lines of dialogue he’s already clearly a high-level jerk. But I guess she doesn’t have much choice.

  6. When I read your story I loved the line where he told her that her costume would be just a towel. Great 8, conveys so well how much acting means to her.

    And you know how I’m both cheering and tearing for you this week. Hugs.

Leave a Reply

