2/9/14 WEWRIWA

Hi Everyone. With all the scams going around, a nasty Internet warning appeared forecasting the storm of the century for today. And now it’s downgraded to a moderate flurry with a couple of inches. No biggie. Yay! We’re survivors, right? You betcha.

Today I begin with my latest release, She DIdn’t Say No, published last week and featured on USAToday HEA section..

Blurb:

 

Grace didn’t say no to the Big Man On Campus, Scott Dwyer. And then her life changed.. .

Grace makes her way to a new town and with the kindness of strangers, establishes a business called The Pet Emporium where she grooms, what else? Dogs and cats.

Years later, a too-close encounter of an unpleasant kind with a skunk and Scott’s German Shepherd reunites the former lovers.

What happens in between are their stories of beginnings and endings and love lost, then found.

 

Excerpt in eight:                                                       Say No CVR ARedefd4-5-stars-rating-bmp

 

I focused on studies; my goal to be a veterinarian required concentration and high grades. The library emptied most Saturday afternoons as the campus prepared for dates, parties and events that had nothing to do with me, a country girl from way upstate New York with ambition and parent’s expectations of greatness from their only child. One student, I’d seen him before, a guy called a BMOC, Big Man On Campus, glanced over from another table and grinned.

“Hey, you, I’ve seen you a bunch of times before with your cute little nose in the books and wondered if  you ever came up for air?”

He spoke to me, this handsome guy, captain of the swim team said my nose is cute and the next thing I knew, he plunked books next to me and grinned again.

“Scott Dwyer,” and he extended his right hand, muscles rippling through his white tee shirt.

I tentatively reached over to shake it and he pulled me closer saying, “Don’t be afraid. I don’t bite.”

Grasping his hand with a firm grip, I shook it and said, “I’m not afraid of anything; I’m Grace Meredith and now I must finish this chapter before the library closes.”

for more snippets from talented writers:

http://wewriwa.com

 

http://www.amazon.com/She-Didnt-Say-Beginning-Not/dp/0615959865

http://www.amazon.com/dp/B00I1MRP9S

https://www.allromanceebooks.com/product-shedidn039tsayno-1404960-149.html

https://www.smashwords.com/books/view/400933

http://youtu.be/fdBbIVdBXXo

30 thoughts on “2/9/14 WEWRIWA

  1. Congratulations on the new book, Charmaine! 🙂 I’ll add it to my Amazon store, (books by friends – check out my site.) Obviously, she “didn’t say no”, but curious about what drove them apart. Love the pet angle!

  2. Is it wrong for me to say that I’m a little jealous of how beautifully you paint a scene? 🙂 I love the premise for this book. Congratulations!

  3. Charmaine, I am both amazed and a tad bit envious as to how well this snippet pulls the reader immediately into the scene and into the psyche of your main character. Great job.

  4. Ha! I already like her character. And I love that last line!!

    Yay for you, Charmaine–USA Today HEAs! I’m so happy for you, and so proud to call you a friend. 🙂 Can you Tweet me about the book and I’ll retweet it, or message me on facebook with the particulars (include a link) and I’ll compose a tweet?

  5. Teresa, you’ve got me doing a happy dance here. She Didn’t Say No is suggested in the blurb. I don’t know quite how to Tweet this into a dynamite Tweet. Available in all formats, a free 4 chapter read on Amazon, thanks to Vanilla Heart Publishing. Links at the end of this post.
    And did you read the 5star review on No Time for Green Bananas from LASR Reviews?
    You’re the one who pointed out I was writing a new genre about a year ago and here I am with about seven Mature stories and more to come, all different.

  6. I love the tone of this snippet and congratulations on the release! This story sounds so good (I’m from Upstate NY originally too so I already feel as if I know your heroine.) Excellent excerpt!

  7. Lovely dream, I think a lot of girls go through a phase where they want to be a vet–and then give it up because it’s so hard, or because they’d start crying over injured pets. I quite admire those that keep going through the work.

    She needs one of those book covers that says ‘go away, I’m reading.’ 🙂

Leave a Reply

