Blogging at Romancing The Pen with Angela Kay Austin

This is from a post  running all week . Check it out and leave a comment for an opportunity to win an ecopy of my latest release She Didn’t Say No. You have to be in it to win it.

Charmaine Gordon

“Be careful what you say, you might end up in my book. “ I couldn’t resist buying the white sweatshirt with this written on it.

An author watches and listens always on the alert for an idea, a clue as to someone’s problem. Why the laughter; why the tears? As an author, I stalk the story and the other day at the supermarket, while shoppers scrambled to beat snow storm warnings, I saw two women talking and laughing at the end of the Mac and Cheese aisle. I stopped to buy a few single serve packs for my grandest granddaughter and listened, tuning in, interest piqued.

“Did you hear about Sheila? She found an old boyfriend from college on Facebook and friended him.”

The other woman laughed. “Of course he’d have to be an old boyfriend. She’s our age.”

I gave a furtive glance their way and made a mental note of the attractive appearances of these women. Groomed to perfection short hair, one gray, the other blond. Dressed well about seventy plus, wedding rings on both. All descriptions needed to flesh out characters when writing. Pushing the cart closer, I pulled more pasta goodies for my grandest and listened.

“Well, they got together and now they’re dating.” They continued talking, never dreaming the had planted a seed in this author’s mind.

I hurried through my grocery list, paid and drove home knowing I had to put away the frozen items and cold stuff, the heck with the rest. Oh, feed the cats and then begin to weave a story from threads of an idea.

So dear readers, if you’ve ever wondered where stories come from remember my sweatshirt and beware.

Introducing Charmaine’s latest release, She Didn’t Say No. Vanilla Heart Publishing.

 

She Didn't Say NoGrace didn’t say no to the Big Man On Campus, Scott Dwyer. And then her life changed…

Grace makes her way to a new town and with the kindness of strangers, establishes a business called The Pet Emporium where she grooms , what else? Dogs and cats.

Years later, a too-close encounter of an unpleasant kind with a skunk and Scott’s German Shepherd reunites the former lovers.

What happens in between are their stories of beginnings and endings and love lost, then found.

 

Coming Soon in Audio!

Buy links:

Amazon    All Romance eBooks    Smashwords

Charmaine Headshot for Author CentralCharmaine Gordon writes books about women who Survive and Thrive.  Her motto is take one step and then another to leave your past behind and begin again. Six books and several short stories in three years, she’s always at work on the next story. The books include To Be Continued, Starting Over, Now What?, Reconstructing Charlie, Sin of Omission, The Catch, and She Didn’t Say No, just released. A new series of Mature Romance/Suspense is available under the umbrella title of The Beginning. . .Not The End.

“I didn’t realize at the time while working as an actor in NYC, I’d become a sponge soaking up dialogue, setting, and stage directions. I learned many tools of writing during the years watching directors like Mike Nichols and actors including Harrison Ford, Anthony Hopkins, and Billy Crystal. And would you believe, I was Geraldine Ferraro’s stand-in leg model, my first job giving me entrée into all the Unions needed to work. When the sweet time ended, I began another career and creative juices flowed.”

You can reach Charmaine through her website, and on FaceBook

 

Leave a Reply

