3/16/14 WEWRIWA

Zooming along toward spring, chipping remnants of ice to widen driveways ever hopeful to hear  birds chirping, crocus blooming and a semblance of re-awakening nature brings. Welcome friends, to another Sunday of snippets from talented authors looking toward constructive criticism. Today I continue with She Didn’t Say No, the story of Grace Meredith and what happens next after she gives in to a night of pleasure with Scott Dwyer. Thanks to everyone who left wonderful comments encouraging me in my career as an author.

Excerpt in approximately eight:

 

Vowing to love each other forever, finish school in a few years and begin a life together, we became the hottest unlikely new couple on campus, the studious girl and the BMOC with school the first priority. We made a promise not to interfere with our different plans because I’d be off to Purdue and he hadn’t solidified his plans yet because law schools offered scholarships for the brightest students and Scott had almost made up his mind since graduation was in June, a couple of months away.

A month later I missed my period; always on time, first I worried and kept it to myself and then frantic, I told him a big fat lie crossing my fingers and hoping to die for what I was about to say, I called my dearest love and said I had the flu and didn’t want him to catch it. Busy with finals, Scott said okay and he missed me and hoped I felt better soon and we’d be together again.

By the second late period, I was sure so I skipped classes and had someone bring assignments to my apartment, I completed my work while making a list of pros and cons, I faced the facts because by now, I’d cried too much pacing the floor alone with no one to talk to and afraid I might hurt the baby with all my grief, I reached for an inner strength to move on. Heartbroken, the practical side of me decided Scott must never know; I couldn’t burden his life, ruin his career with a baby and as for me, I’d go to Buffalo, tell my parents and they’d help me solve the problem.

 My Dearest Scott, I’m saying goodbye, not because I want to but because I have to; our paths are too divergent to survive the long wait until we can be together so please, please know you are my one and only love; I wish you well; and, and I don’t know what else to say except goodbye.

The letter made no sense; choices made with no guidance; choices that changed our lives.

 

This is the last snippet from She Didn’t Say No. Thanks for all the encouragement, my friends.

 for more snippets from talented authors:                           Say No CVR ARe

 http://wewriwa.com

http://www.amazon.com/She-Didnt-Say-Beginning-Not/dp/0615959865

http://www.amazon.com/dp/B00I1MRP9S

https://www.allromanceebooks.com/product-shedidn039tsayno-1404960-149.html

https://www.smashwords.com/books/view/400933

http://youtu.be/fdBbIVdBXXo

35 thoughts on “3/16/14 WEWRIWA

  1. How heartbreaking, gut-wrenching. Beautifully captured. (Love that she’s talking of going to Purdue, near where I live now…and going back to her parents in Buffalo- where I’m from. lol. The coincidence makes me smile)

    (still playing this week, although my link is not on the wewriwa page)

  2. Thanks, Alexis. Next week I’m moving on to another story. If you’re interested in reading the whole story-it’s a novella. Check out free chapters on Amazon to see what you decide. Let me know if you read She Didn’t Say No, please.

  3. Aww, it breaks my heart to think she needs to hide this from him, to save him from the burden of it all. I hope she’ll realize that he’s committed to her in every way, and together they’ll get through this.

  4. Charmaine, Charmaine. You are such an excellent writer so resit the urge to stretch that 8 too far. I thought it was a great scene but with the long sentences I couldn’t catch my breath to absorb it. I admit I add a semi colon or two to get the last sentence or two in, but I stop before I go to far. I remember it’s the internet and everyone will see it. OK, so maybe that was a bit of the list moderator in me talking too, but I don’t think you would normally ever put “because” twice in a sentence and so many commas. Your writing is just too good for that! I mean all of that from the heart I hope you know and like to see you showcase your best—that’s what sells books. 🙂

    So other than all of that, wow, truly heartbreaking and a tough decision to make. This does explain a lot of what was in the opening few snippets.

    No snippet for me this week. I’m busy today so I’m just hopping around to read my favorites so I don’t miss a piece of the story. 🙂

    • Cindy, oh Cindy, I stretched beyond belief to express her feelings. Trimmed to a fare-thee-well. Of course, in the book it makes sense with commas where they belong. Thanks for the comment. I certainly got carried away in an attempt to finish the last snippet of She Didn’t Say No. YIKES!

  5. Such a heartbreaking story and so true to life as well. It’s on my kindle TBR…excellent excerpt, can’t wait for whatever you give us next week from something else as well. I’m sure it’ll go straight to my TBR! Love your writing.

  6. This really sets up the story, Charmaine. And I think most of us can relate–young love, big decisions, and sometimes those decisions aren’t made with the brain. 🙂 I was going to comment more, but don’t want to put spoilers out here. 🙂 Good snippet. 🙂

  7. Millie, I felt the same way as I wrote and wrote thinking about my own daughter and what if? So I kept writing and hoped this story would touch hearts and of course, there’s fun, humor and the kindness of strangers ahead for Grace, Thanks for all your support.

  8. Oh, no! What a terrible decision to have to make… I don’t agree with her choice, because I don’t think it’s fair for her to shoulder the burden alone for something that took two to make–or to keep such a thing from the father. But I can see so clearly how she arrived at it–the fear just drips from her thoughts.

Leave a Reply

