A new release and how it began. . .

DD ereader with handsOnce upon a time. . .That’s the way old fairy tales began long ago and some new ones still do. I dreamed of a woman not young, not slim, not HOT the way so many heroines are described these days. My woman is smart, pretty, a bit over weight and lonely. She’s a doctor who lives in a paid-up home on the beach in St. Augustine Beach, Florida. Now what? I wondered. How can I tell a story about her with romance, conflict, and all the ingredients needed to make a story interesting. So I began to write. My imagination conjured up a hero, a plan for them to find each other, background to round out, friends and more. Before long, with some sleepless nights, a story evolved; a new adventure for me and a title.

Introducing Dr. D and the Dad.

blurb:

A trip over a mound of sand on the beach begins a journey for Diane O’Rourke and Tony Flannigan. She’s a pediatrician, a bit over weight; he has a foster care home with three children under his sheltering wing… and a dark secret. Can they overcome the past and make the future work for them? They might just find the initial trip was well worth it.

Dr. D and the Dad is a mature romance from The Beginning… Not the End series by Charmaine Gordon,
http://www.amazon.com/Dr-Dad-Beginning-Not-End-ebook/dp/B00J6PNWB4
http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/dr-d-and-the-dad-charmaine-gordon/1118949666
https://www.allromanceebooks.com/product-drdandthedad-1460207-149.html
https://www.smashwords.com/books/view/421115

excerpt:

The pediatric clinic closed at five o’clock. The staff hurried out calling to one another, “Meet you at Island Grill at nine. Don’t be late. A new hot band is playing tonight.” They were in their twenties through thirties. Everyone looked for companionship on Friday night and a whole lot more to follow on Saturday night, the loneliest night of the week for Diane O’ Rourke. I shrugged and locked up. Driving the mile home I wondered how to enhance my status. Online dating didn’t appeal to me. Was I destined to live life with a cat, as a healer of other people’s children, and no sex? A dim prospect and I’d have to do something before I got another day older. But what? The singles column in the Jacksonville News was awful. Men liked younger women, that’s a fact. Join a health club, yoga, weight watchers. Might be the answer. My patient’s parents would love to see a new improved me. I sure didn’t want to join some women’s group going to movies and events all over Florida including the Keys.
My cat waited for me. Something tasty like chocolate must be in the freezer. My home, my cat, and was that all? I wondered.
Nights are long in February, long and chilly with the ocean blowing heavy winds. I thought about building a fire and got over it. Too much effort. My unfaithful companion, a six year old orange striped cat named Tiger snaked around my ankles until a can of cat food was emptied into his bowl and he forgot about me. My new doctor’s jacket size 16 felt a bit snug when I finally removed it. What the hell? Must be a different brand. The colorful mumu I slipped over my head allowed me to breathe. Now for dinner.
The male husky voice from the beach, from the shower fantasy, called from the screen door at the back.
“Diane, it’s Tony from the beach this morning. I stopped by to see if you’re all right.”
Tony from the beach? “Tony, I just came home, feeling fine and wondering what to make for dinner.” I hurried to the screen door and let him into my life.

Thanks for stopping by. I appreciate your support.

 

Leave a Reply

