6/1/14 WEWRIWA

Yippee! It’s Sunday. I just finished She Never Said Yes and must reread before sending it to the the fearless leader. Thanks, lovely friends, who helped me through the agony and ecstasy of the WIP.

Today, I will take you on a journey, my very first book, To Be Continued, Vanilla Heart Publishing. Never dreaming a few years later a production company would call offering an option for a television movie. I’ve heard from them recently. It’s still in the works and that’s fine with me. One of the reasons I’m reliving this book, parts of it, is to spread hope and good wishes to all my writing pals. Never give up. Love what you write and keep going.

Elizabeth Malone wakes up the morning after an amazing night of passion with her husband of forty years to find a note: Dear Lizzie, it’s not you, it’s me. Abandoned by her husband, disappointed in daughter Susie’s casual attitude Dad’s having a mid-life crisis, Beth decides to re-establish herself as the winner she once was. When Frank Malone returns, he’s in for a big surprise!

excerpt in eight:

Sun sneaked through blinds, her eyes shut tight not quite ready to open, Elizabeth Malone wanted to revel in memories of the great sex she and Frank, her husband of forty years, had last night; at his insistence, for God’s sake. She practically had to seduce him before they did it anymore; was on the verge of suggesting those little blue pills the girls talked about, when out of nowhere he became amorous.
Fingers crept along the sheets searching for her mate as they groped to where Frank could be found most early mornings except on golf days or scheduled surgery.
Turning her head, she called his name and at the same time she saw an envelope lying on top of the pillow.  A smile tugged at the corners of her mouth and she sat up, a heap of green satin lay on the floor next to the bed, evidence of last night’s pleasure.
Stumbling off the bed, letter clutched in her hand, she groped for reading glasses, found them, dropped them, on hands and knees patting the carpet, found them again she read:
Dear Lizzie, It’s not you, It’s me: I have decided I must make a change in my life so I sold my half of the practice to George, left the house to you and signed my portion of divorce papers so whenever you’re ready, call Bruce.”
  She leaped up—made it to the toilet and after retching she cried, “Oh God, What an I going to do?”

For more snippets from talented writers:                                     To Be Continued newstyle 3D (2)

http://wewriwa.com

 

buy links:

PRINT – http://www.amazon.com/To-Be-Continued-Charmaine-Gordon/dp/1935407430

Kindle – http://www.amazon.com/To-Be-Continued-ebook/dp/B0030IM65G

AllRomance Ebooks – https://www.allromanceebooks.com/product-tobecontinued-395548-149.html

Smashwords for All Ereaders – https://www.smashwords.com/books/view/7283

Free Book Club Discussion Packet – http://store.payloadz.com/go?id=912108

 

Review by LASR:

Rising from the ashes of a burned-out marriage, Elizabeth feels like forty years of her life went up in smoke. Her successful husband, Dr. Frank Malone sneaked away in the night leaving only a note.

With a daughter that “pooh-poohs” the whole thing as just a temporary mid-life crisis and “friends” that avoid her, Elizabeth must rely on herself. Even her longtime lawyer turns out to be a stinker.

The Elizabeth that once was, before subverting her aspirations and becoming Dr. Frank Malone’s wife and Susie’s mother, begins to find herself–and what a self it is. The emotional journey she makes magnifies that life is to be continued, even if old dreams and an old marriage die.

Everyone should be fortunate enough to have a new friend like Lisa, a pool man like Maverick (WOW), a new lawyer like Elise Bergen, and a Sister Mary Margaret type to help rekindle the fire to be a “winner” after feeling like a total “loser”. Besides these supportive new people in her life, Elizabeth’s life is influenced by a tempting but troubled psychiatrist that wrote a book entitled “Get A Grip”, a remarkable son-in-law, and some super guests at “The Night for Possibilities” not the least of which is Sam Taylor.

Charmaine Gordon brings the characters to life with humor, decisive action, shared tears and stories. In To Be Continued Ms. Gordon takes the reader from a situation of despair to one of joy and love with lots of living done with mature and some not-so-mature exuberance.

To Be Continued with a survive-and-thrive attitude is captivating.

27 thoughts on “6/1/14 WEWRIWA

  1. What a shocking way to start the morning! Charmaine you’ve managed to capture Elizabeth’s emotions so well. Kudos on the movie option.

  2. I think I might have congratulated you earlier at some point about that TV movie, but congrats again! The snippet is fantastic, as always. I went from being all content with her in bed to dismayed (and sick) by her husband’s sudden abandonment.

    • Thanks, Gem. For an old broad like me just getting started on a new career, this is a surprise and delight. I hope you follow Beth Malone’s journey and see what component parts made her story appealing to a producer.

  3. A TV movie, congratulations. I’m so excited for you. Great snippet. How very cruel of her husband. Love the real moments you’ve mixed in, like her dropping her glasses.

    • She has a long way to go from the winner she once was. I don’t know where the story came from. Once of those sleep writing dreams that didn’t let go. Tune in next week, my friend for the further adventures.

    • At the time I began To be Continued, I belonged to a small critique group. When I read the first twenty pages to them, two of the women shrieked, “That happened to my girlfriend. How did you know?” I never met anyone in that circumstance and didn’t know their friends. The story came to me. I wrote it, fumbled along and here I am.

  4. Really makes me wonder why he initiated the night before–did he want a last hurrah? Feel guilty about what he planned to do? Was it goodbye? It feels cruel to do something so kind, to make her feel like the marriage was going better, and then leave.

Leave a Reply

