6/29/14 WEWRIWA

Today I begin with the dedication in my latest release Farewell, Hello, formerly titled She never Said yes. A few months ago, the story was my WIP and you all helped me coax half the story into shape, especially when I ran into a major snag. When Kimberlee Williams, Vanilla Heart Publishing, asked for the dedication, I wrote the following:

Farewell, Hello is dedicated to Weekend Writer Warriors, an amazing supportive online group of writers begun a year ago by Teresa Cypher, Marcia Kuma and Dana Renelt. When I sent out a cry for help one Sunday, that my WIP-work in progress- needed comments, support streamed through and my mind sorted out the problem.
A huge thanks to WEWRIWA. http://www.wewriwa.com

I’ll be gone until later in the Sunday afternoon and then leave comments. Don’t think I’m neglecting you, my friends.

Today I move along with Beth Malone in To Be Continued. Last week she met and paid the pool guy, Maverick. The phone rings as he leaves and she hears her husband’s voice on the message. Beth never learned to program the phone but she knew Frank’s voice didn’t belong there anymore so she runs out to catch Maverick and ask him to help.

Excerpt in eight:  “I’m basically a techno-dummy and machines have always been my mortal enemy,” Beth fidgeted thinking don’t suck your thumb, nitwit. She rattled on, “I know it’s an imposition and you have a busy schedule but
no one’s here to help me and I must change the message on my answer machine or I will lose my mind and kill myself if I hear his voice in my home again.”
He packed his equipment in the van, locked the doors and said,“Okay, it’s easy to change the message, I’ll show you.” They walked along the garden path where Maverick commented on the forsythia bushes in full bloom as daffodils and tulips Beth nurtured over the years competed in a beauty contest and they entered the house.
A few buttons pressed, Frank’s voice deleted forever and Maverick said, “Okay, time for you to record your message.”

“My name is Elizabeth; Frank called me Lizzie but I like Beth and now I don’t know who I am.”af06a-tbc_flat_front_to_work_with_copy

Maverick said, “My name was John and one day I thought to myself I had enough of John so I became Maverick and I’ve been feelin’ good ever since so Miz Malone, if Beth is what you want, be Beth.”
She watched the white van with the whimsical logo painted on the side, drive off; a large calf, head looking over the shoulder, no brand to be seen, a maverick separate from the herd and realized Frank had separated her from the herd when he fargin’ left her without warning.

for more snippets from talented authors:

http://www.wewriwa.com

 

buy links for To Be Continued:

PRINT – http://www.amazon.com/To-Be-Continued-Charmaine-Gordon/dp/1935407430

Kindle – http://www.amazon.com/To-Be-Continued-ebook/dp/B0030IM65G

AllRomance Ebooks – https://www.allromanceebooks.com/product-tobecontinued-395548-149.html

Smashwords for All Ereaders – https://www.smashwords.com/books/view/7283

 

Buy Links: Farewell, Hello:

 

 

 http://www.amazon.com/dp/B00L5WW6Z

https://itunes.apple.com/us/book/farewell-hello/id8889304

http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/farewell-hello-charmaine-gordon/1119733592

https://www.smashwords.com/books/view/447582

https://www.allromanceebooks.com/product-farewellhello-1555741-149.html

 

39 thoughts on “6/29/14 WEWRIWA

  1. Nice little scene, very realistic with changing the voice mail! Maverick seems like such a nice guy, so I HOPE he’s the one she’s going to find happiness with. You always make me care so much about the people in your stories!

  2. Oh this is a cute scene…my only nitpick, I don’t like the suck your thumb reference. It conjured sort of a ridiculous image for me and pulled me out of the story. I know she’s nervous but that seemed over the top.

  3. For a moment, I thought, “My name is Elizabeth; Frank called me Lizzie but I like Beth and now I don’t know who I am.” was her message! 😀

    Add me to Maverick’s fan club. 🙂

  4. I liked the “separating from the herd” analogy. 🙂

    Charmaine, thank you so very much! You’re a sweetheart. 🙂 I wish you much success with your soon to be released story! I’m glad you’re part of the awesome wewriwa community. 🙂

    • I wonder about the success of my first story. Without knowing what the heck I was doing, I put words together and out came To Be Continued. Boggles my mind.
      Farewell is out. If we get a boost in our community of writers, maybe it will be because of the Dedication. As it is, we’re a good tight group.

  5. I love that analogy too; so apt, and how fitting that she realizes it because of Maverick’s van.

    Thank you, Charmaine 🙂 I’m touched and humbled that you would include us. You have a heart of gold. I know your story will sell well, because you’re an excellent writer. Thanks for inviting us along on your writing journey!

  6. As a member of the WeWriWa gang, thank you so much for that dedication!

    You know I LOVE this story and the journey Beth takes. I also was a bit thrown by the Elizabeth-Lizzie-Beth line thinking it was her message. But I really like the fact she can call herself whatever she wants to identify herself with. And Maverick – yumm!

  7. Names are such a powerful thing. They’re the very root of our identity. I can see how becoming Beth and starting fresh is so appealing to her.

    Absolutely love the dedication, Charmaine! What a lovely tribute to this awesome writing group. 🙂

  8. I can relate to the techno-dummy bit. I may be an IT manager, but that’s a different world from home technology. I can’t even work the TV any more 😦

    Great little scene. Just wondered if you’ve been loose with punctuation to cram more into the 8, because some of the sentences left me out of breath (although that actually works well for Beth’s initial speech)

    • Oh yes. I did run on and for that I’m sorry. Husband ill and I’m fragmented. I see it in my writing where I go back correcting spelling, trying to make sense before I’m interrupted. Thanks. I’ll be more aware next week.

  9. I love Beth and Maverick. I’m hoping Beth can find happiness with her life now that she’s deleted her past. And, I’m hoping she’ll bump into Maverick again! He’s charming 🙂

    Keep smiling,
    Yawatta

Leave a Reply

