A Moment With Michael Douglas. . .

1987:  “A bowling scene,” the casting director said. Of course I was available. “Half day work, full day’s pay.” Sounded good to me. What to wear, I wondered. I called a friend. She suggested jeans, a plaid shirt and stuff like that there. Good to go for an early call.

Little did I know the movie was Fatal Attraction and I’d have a chat with Michael Douglas during a break. I’ve already confided to you that the ‘Don’t talk to the Stars” rule doesn’t apply to me and why, you might ask?  Because  I’m respectful and fast and always have something to say. And they are always pleased. So I parked at a bowling alley on Riverside Drive heading toward NYC and walked in. Approval from wardrobe came next and there were a few actors I knew from other shoots. And there he was. Handsome lean, smiling, a husky guy obviously  his best friend at his side. He tried out a bowling bowl and with style and grace, brought all the pins down. Applause, applause.

During a break, I walked over to the man. “I loved your movie, Running. He turned to me with wide smile. “Thanks. The reviews weren’t good and I worked so hard.” He hugged me and said “Thanks. You’ve made my day.”

Part of the sweet time I’ll never forget.                         Michael Douglas VF 2012 Shankbone.JPG

Still of Michael Douglas and Stuart Pankin in Fatal Attraction (1987)Michael Douglas with his best pal

6 thoughts on “A Moment With Michael Douglas. . .

Leave a Reply

