Buy one, get one free. . .

The husband returns from shopping with four, count them, four cartons of Haagen Daz!

“”We said we weren’t going to have ice cream in the house any more because I can’t stop once I take a spoonful.”
I moan and check the flavors. Butter Pecan, my fave. Chocolate, chocolate chip. Not so bad , either. And two are Vanilla, almonds and chocolate bits. Well that does it.

“Honey, I planned to hide them in back of the freezer section . You’d never know.””

“Never know? You leave an ice cream coated spoon in the sink and believe I ‘d never notice?” Okay. He’s ill and I forgive him but he’s a guy and doesn’t know women don’t take one bit of a brownie or a taste of cake. It’s part of us built in for centuries.

This brings me to another subject. When I see a writer’s book for sale .99 cents, I shiver and wonder what value does the author place on month’s of work, the angst and hours that go into a story. Or box sales? Buy one, get one free? I don’t get it. My personal feeling is value yourself and your words. The author is an artist. Don’t give your treasure away for ranking or a boost in sales.  Call me old fashioned. I’m expressing myself.

Any thoughts out there? You’re welcome to spill. I have plenty of Haagen Daz to share but not for long.

Charmaine CD -3 sATURATED_pp8x10g- CD

2 thoughts on “Buy one, get one free. . .

  1. Hi Charmaine,
    I agree completely about the .99 cents books. It scares me! also the free books on amazon? There’s currently one that has the first 3 books of the series for free and I just don’t know how that works out as okay?? I’m new to all of this so maybe you can give me some insight as to why??
    Save me some icecream!!

    xoxo
    Tamara

  2. Hi Tamara. Thanks for stopping by. It’s a race for top dog billing. “Take me, I’m free or really inexpensive even if I’m not A NY Times Best Selling Author.” And there’s a flood of books on the market. Yet we love to write; take months to pour out our feelings and build a story. I ask readers to take a look, check us out and see what we’ve created. Doesn’t seem like too much to ask for, does it.
    Keep writing and hopefully the trend will pass. Meanwhile, drop by . I’ll share what’s left of the ice cream and watch for more Buy one, Get one free sales BUT NOT about books.

    Love, Charmaine

Leave a Reply

