10/12/14 WEWRIWA

And the days dwindle down to a precious few. . .No problem. We have our community of writers, WEWRIWA, to keep us going and write we must. Today I appeal to you, I’ve done this in the past, with a WIP, the sequel to Housebroken, Book 2 in the River’s Edge Series. Untitled, jump in at any time with full credit, I intended to select a character from Book One but Sally Atwood intruded saying , “Oh no you don’t. I’m about to blossom from homemaker to reporter.” I followed her lead and this is what came up. The story begins with her first interview at River’s Edge Community Cable Company. Sally’s fifty five. All the others in the waiting room are young. YIKES!

excerpt in eight:

“Sally Atwood.” Sally jumped when she heard the receptionist call her name.

She picked up the dropped briefcase and gathered spilled papers, embarrassed in front of all the young reporters waiting for an interview.

Jerald Adams had the reputation as high man on the totem pole of local news, also rumored to be a womanizer.
She entered the office, smelled cigars and wrinkled her nose.
“Well hello, Sally Atwood, have a seat and tell me why you don’t like the smell of cigars and had to wrinkle that pretty turned up nose?”
She sat deflated like a whipped pup knowing she’d gotten off to a bad start.
“I’m sorry it I offended you, Mr. Adams; I’m here to show you what I’ve accomplished so far and promise if, after you see my reporting ability, I’ll get, uh, used to the scent.”
He rose and came around the desk towering over the petite Sally, “Get me an interview with Grace Trumbull at the Pet Emporium with her doing the special dog communication thing she’s known for and you’re hired, little lady.”

for more snippets from talented writers:

http://www.wewriwa.com

I’m participating along with several authors in WEWRIWA in First Page Blog Hop. We welcome comments and critique, of course and would love to see more participants.

Thanks, everyone, for your loving and important weekly critique.

44 thoughts on “10/12/14 WEWRIWA

  1. Her reaction to the cigar scent is realistic. Cigars give off such a strong smell – I should know as I enjoy them myself. I like his proposal to her, but it seems a little too good to be true.

  2. I react that way to cigars too!

    Ugh, I already don’t like Jerald Adams–“little lady”, what decade does he think this is? Good job setting him up as a challenge for Sally. I’m betting she grits her teeth and gets that interview, so you can bet I’ll be coming back to find out 🙂

  3. I’m guessing it’s a difficult assignment, but since she’s older and has more life experience, it’ll be nothing but a thing for her : )

  4. SUCH a realistic scene! I felt so sorry for her, dropping the papers in front of all the others – you create extremely realistic, relatable characters every time. Great snippet, can’t wait for more!

    • Ah. So you like the beginning. That’s the writer’s challenge. Sally goes after the interview. I had a lot of fun writing this part-actually she dictated to me. Funny how it happens. See you next week. How’s the munchkin? Is he working yet?

  5. Sueann, you always see right into a story-at least my stories. And when she returns with a digital copy of the amazing interview in hand, guess what he says and win a prize. By the way, I hope you can come up with a title. I’m at a loss for a good one.

  6. Little lady?!?!?!? UGH that rubbed me the wrong way. Seriously!!! Fun 8 and I’m sure Sally will do great! Unlike the young reporters she’s up against, she won’t be trying to sleep her way to the top. Hope she gets the job.

  7. Oh how exciting to encounter a character from another great book of yours. I’m sure Sally will be successful in getting the interview, I look forward to how it goes.

  8. You made me suspicious of his motives at the same time I could really see her fumbling attempts to make a good impression versus her honest response to the cigar scent. Great hook.

Leave a Reply

