10/19/14 WEWRIWA

Hi Gang. Welcome to WEWRIWA on Sunday. We guarantee an interesting read with everyone of our participants and welcome constructive critique. Thank you for stopping by to leave a comment. Personally, I learn from each comment.

This week I continue with my latest WIP-untitled still-help me out, people.

Sally Atwood has a challenge from a womanizing cable company. She escapes, excited to know if she’s fortunate to get an interview with Grace Trumbull at the Pet Emporium, known for her talent as the dog communicator, she’ll get the job promised by sleazy Jerald Adams. Former homemaker, Sally is eager to start her first job as a reporter so this is her big chance.

excerpt in eight:

Sally slung the worn leather bag over her shoulder packed with a new camcorder Steve gave her to celebrate the transition from homemaker to reporter and heart hammering, drove to the Pet Emporium on Main Street.
 A tall muscular man walked over to greet her amidst the cacophony of barking dogs and she babbled,“I’m Sally Atwood, a reporter, the cable station’s chief Jerald Adams challenged me to get an interview with a prominent woman he calls the dog communicator.”
“I’m Scott Dwyer,”  he laughed while he steered Sally to a small alcove, closed the door, the noise subsided, the aroma of freshly baked brownies overcame her.

“I make brownies every day because after smelling dogs and cats in soapy water, it’s nice to have a home baked smell in here.”Charmaine -10 sATURATED_pp8x10g-72y
 Sally liked his easy going manner and confided, “After raising three kids and being a stay-at-home mom for many years, I took some classes in communication, journalism and reporting and I do have a few credentials from work in Rockland County if you’d like to check them out.”

Handing him a folder, she took a small bite out of the brownie, and thought,Oh my God, the taste of chocolate so sweet she restrained from the desire to inhale the entire piece even though it beckoned..
His blue eyes scanned current columns Sally wrote and he said, “ I like your warm, friendly, not pretentious style so wait a sec.”
“You’re in luck today, Sally ’cause Grace is in a good mood and right now she’s in conference with a sad saluki.”

for more snippets from talented writers:

http://www.wewriwa.com

44 thoughts on “10/19/14 WEWRIWA

  1. Gee thanks, now I want a brownie!
    I like Scott’s character,his obvious protectiveness of his wife and his culinary skills. So far it seems Sally isn’t going to have a hard time getting the interview – or is she?
    Just from this snippet and the story behind it, how about “Help Wanted” as a working title?

  2. Oh very nice!! Totally loved the wording: the cacophony of barking dogs. I read it twice just to let the phrase roll over me. Just wonderful for pace, sound and imagery! I loved it.

  3. Hey there. I think that may be more than eight senteces, but it’s interesting stuff! Is it the chief of the cable company who’s a womanizer, or really the entire company? 😉

  4. LOL! Love that he bakes brownies to cover the smell of wet dog/cat. There is nothing worse than that odor. I’m glad Grace is in a good mood. Let’s hope it stays that way! Nice excerpt, Charmaine! 🙂

  5. My mouth is watering for a brownie! lol Well done. Enjoyed the snippet. And I so get what you mean about the smell of a wet dog. lol Home baked goods are so much better.

  6. I want to be in that shop with them and the brownies! Really an excellent excerpt. I felt so relieved for your heroine that things are going well so far. You certainly portray so well what it feels like to be a newbie, trying to make an opportunity work!

  7. Mmmmm brownies! I like Scott and I can relate with Sally’s nervousness. However, would she really go around carrying a folder with her current articles? I find that a bit weird… but it could be just me 🙂 I am eager to see if she’ll get the interview or something will go wrong.

  8. This strikes me as so real. I have known women–homemakers–who have gone back to work as small town newspaper reporters and worked on stories very similar to Sally’s assignment.

  9. Brownies and squeaky clean pets to cuddle with, a very nice combination. This is why chocolate scented candles are some of my favorites–less tasty, but also less calories. 😉

  10. I so feel for how nervous Sally is and I totally visualized her blurting all that out so quick before she lost her nerve. Your snippets are always so real to life experiences.

Leave a Reply

