A newlywed’s first Halloween-1952 Bossier City, Louisiana

Unaware of anything but but each other, the Korean War, and Barksdale Air Force Base, Bud came home riding his Corgi mortorbike- the smallest cycle you ever saw.

“Did you buy candy?”

“No. Why?”

“It’s Halloween and our little neighborhood is filled with kids who will come looking for treats.”

“UH, what’ll we do? It’s too late to go shopping.” The bell rang. Young voices cried out, “Trick or treat-trick or treat. Give us something good to eat.”

Apples, I remembered the big bag of apples we had. So we put an apple in each pumpkin. and the kids ran off laughing. I knew we’d run out of them soon. Not the kids-the apples. And we did.

My pilot husband said, “How about bread? Do we have a loaf of Wonder Bread?”

“Sure but what. . .”

“Quick. Give me a slice and a small paper bag. When I turn off the outside light, I’ll rattle my hand in the bag. The kids will think something wonderful is coming up and in the dark, I’ll drop a slice of bread.”

What can I say about that wonderful night of laughter. Convulsed, holding our sides together, finally the doorbell stopped ringing. Bud and I had another night to remember. Just one of so many in all the wonderful years together.

Are you listening up there, wherever you are, sweetheart? Oh yes you are.

46235_4036441625825_953707763_n   Charmaine Headshot for Author Central                                                                                                  

FREE 4 Chapter Preview Download

Farewell,Hello

    Once you’ve read the beginning, you’ll want to read this long/short story of love lost then found.                                 Concept CVR FH 1-1

2 thoughts on “A newlywed’s first Halloween-1952 Bossier City, Louisiana

  1. Charmaine, you’re getting close to home. ’52 was my birth year and I was born & raised in Northeast LA, near Monroe, where I eventually went to pharmacy school.
    And I ate lots of Wonder Bread growing up. It build strong bodies 12 ways! LOL
    This blog was touching in a number of ways. Thanks.

  2. Frank, I’m delighted to have ‘touched’ you across the miles. Our years in the Shreveport area were a period of growth and fear with Bossier Base so close and losing friends in the war. I wrote skits and performed Sunday night and the formal dinners at the Officer’s Club. Quite a change for two kids from Chicago. We never should have left the service to face the cold civilian life.

Leave a Reply

