11/2/14 WEWRIWA

T’was a cold and rainy Halloween but who cares. I found a mini Baby Ruth bar outside. We live in a QUIET neighborhood with no kids around. Yet every year husband says, “did you buy candy? And he doesn’t eat candy. Not  a single trick or treaters came by. What are we to do with those cute little Tootsie rolls calling to me? I ask you, my friends. It’s a puzzlement.

Meanwhile it’s wonderful WEWRIWA Sunday and you know me. I write, no matter what. Chelle Cordero came up with the title Help Wanted, Vanilla Heart Publishing said send it over and now it’s available. So yippee and Happy Dance-here’s another eight. No longer a WIP but a published story. Last week Sally was allowed to watch and record a session with a sad Saluki and Grace Trumbull known as the dog communicator, owner of the Pet Emporium. Afterward, Sally meets with Grace for a private in-depth interview in the alcove where it’s quiet.

excerpt in eight:

A breathless Grace entered the small room about ten minutes later and said, ” I refused to let Sammy go home with her until she buys another companion Saluki to keep him company.  ” Pouring tea and munching on a brownie, she continued, “I hope she takes my advice or she’ll have to sue me for custody.”

Camcorder on,Sally began,“You found River’s Edge how, if it’s not too personal.”
Grace’s big brown eyes focused on a middle distance, “The kindness of strangers led me here and here I’ve stayed to open the Pet Emporium with Jim Trumbull.
“And your gift, people call you the ‘dog whisperer or communicator, and watching you with the magnificent dog, I could swear you understood each other.”
Frowning, a few beats passed before Grace answered, her face a study of deep thought and Sally let the camcorder capture her mood.
“I call it a communication just as you and I are doing now, not a mystical talent as far as I’m concerned.

As for Jerry Abrams, that S.O.B., he waved a carrot in front of your nose by saying get an in-depth interview with reclusive Grace Trumbull so we’re going to knock his socks off with this interview and you’ll get the job.”

for more snippets from talented writers:

http://www.wewriwa.com

4CHPforNTCVR

Steve and Sally Atwood have some big adjustments to make when they move to River’s Edge. Steve has lost his career in the corporate world and finds work painting houses. Sally flings off her apron and pursues her lifelong dream to be a reporter in the small town with a big heart, where the motto is ‘Kindness to Strangers’. Afraid he is losing Sally to a more exciting world, Steve panics, but despite Sally’s lecherous new boss, together they rediscover all the love of their thirty-five years together and the excitement that brings.

https://itunes.apple.com/us/book/help-wanted/id933546940

https://www.allromanceebooks.com/product-helpwanted-1658298-149.html

http://www.amazon.com/dp/B00OWHOGYS

https://www.smashwords.com/books/view/487447

http://www.barnesandnoble.com/s/Charmaine-Gordon

Video CVR clip

Help Wanted Sneak Peek Video

 

or

 

http://youtu.be/4fz0NVk3Vf0

4CHPforNTCVR

http://books.noisetrade.com/charmainegordon/free-4-chapter-preview-help-wanted

52 thoughts on “11/2/14 WEWRIWA

  1. I like Grace (liked her in She Didn’t Say No) and her conspiratorial voice about Sally getting the job. She is one wise cookie. And an animal lover, what’s not to like. Great snippet and a terrific re-introduction of Grace. I think Sally will learn a lot from her.
    BTW, Fantastic cover & great title 😉

  2. I’m so glad that dog from last week is going to get some help!

    And if that doesn’t show that I’m hooked on this book, nothing will. 😀

    I’m loving River’s Edge, Charmaine.

  3. I love Grace. She is on it! I remember volunteering at a place called pet rescue, so many years ago and falling in love with numerous animals. We even had a very loving raccoon. This book is reminding me of those days and I can’t wait to read more!

  4. I love both the down-to-earth feel of both women and the sense of expectation created in that last line of dialogue. I enjoyed this snippet. I think I’d like this town and its people!

  5. Good to see someone who has the solutions, and isn’t afraid to tell people ‘what you were doing isn’t working, this is what we’re going to do instead.’ Happy dogs and happy humans will result! 🙂

  6. Congrats on getting it published! Best of luck on the sales!!

    Loved the 8. Grace seems like a very down to earth kinda person. Someone Sally could probably easily become friends with once the interview is over. It’s good that Grace is willing to do the interview and help Sally get the job. Too many times women can be protrayed trying to keep each other down and lots of cattiness. Glad that isn’t the case here.

    • Meka, I do love your comments. Yes Grace is dynamic. She’s the heroine in She Didn’t Say No, the first story where I imagined the town of River’s Edge and the Pet Emporium.She and her second husband Scott befriend Sally in her quest to become a reporter.

  7. Great snippet! Congratulations on getting published and it’s cool that a friend helped you with the title. Helped Wanted sounds interesting. As always, you had interesting dialogue. As a reader, I’m all about a huge chunk of conversation in a scene 🙂

    Keep smiling,
    Yawatta

Leave a Reply

