Thank you, dear Veterans I’ve loved and still love

How fortunate I’ve been to have the privilege of being married to a pilot in the Strategic Air Command and later to a sailor in the Navy. They both served during the Korean War.

My first husband and I met and fell in love while in high school, Chicago 1946. I was fifteen, he was a senior. We married in ’52, had many kids and lived in the wonderful community of the 301st Bomb Wing. After we left the service, his four years completed, we had a feeling we should have remained in. Life in the military was good compared to civilian life. We always regretted our choice. Bud died suddenly at 59. I had to begin a life as a single compared to the double I was accustomed to.

Soon, as fate would have it, I met Don, a good man who regaled me with tall tales of years in the Navy, quite a change from an officer’s wife but so much fun giving me a new perspective on life. And we here are in our eighties, how did that happen?, taking care of each other through thick and a lot of thin.

God Bless America and the men and women who so valiantly serve to protect our country. We give our thanks and send hopes for your safe return.

10565219_10202759512405320_3484045201100648786_nDon and I celebrating Father’s Day

46235_4036441625825_953707763_nBud intense dressed in full gear for a training flight

Proud and earnest in his flight cap                                                     548906_4036438705752_303365653_n                                                                                                                                        Charmaine Headshot for Author CentralAnd me

2 thoughts on “Thank you, dear Veterans I’ve loved and still love

  1. How fortunate for Bud and Don, two wonderful heroes who found a good woman’s love. And how fortunate for the world to have known such wonderful people. Thank you for sharing your life with us.

Leave a Reply

