10/7/14 WEWRIWA

All this week I’m thinking, Where were you on December 7, 1941? I was on my way to elementary school when my cousin Eddy ran to me crying, “The Japanese bombed Pearl Harbor and we’re at war.” Most of you, my friends in this writing community weren’t born back the in “the day of infamy” as President Roosevelt framed it. The unspeakable, unforgivable act of violence that took the lives of hundreds of military personnel on that black day in history. Forgive me. I can never get the image out of my mind.

On to the joy of writing and sharing our snippets. Last week, the book within my book intrigued you all. As a writer, I’m thrilled when this happens. Some of you wondered why a close encounter that didn’t seem to be such a big deal was blown out of proportion by Sally. Remember, she’s been a homemaker for about thirty five years and suddenly an attractive man comes on to her. But Lance stirred something inside her and she felt as if she’d cheated on her husband just with a thought. The book of advice wiped clean had a new place on the lowest shelf toward the end. Just in case. And knowing how seductive and soothing food is to Steve, Sally started risotto rice, defrosted pork tenderloin for two.
When Steve opened the front door, weary after a long day of physical work, he’d sniff the aroma of dinner almost ready and maybe she’d have time to prepare apple dumplings for dessert.

excerpt in eight:

A rainbow of sails on the Hudson river billowed with the wind as a race began, each sailboat displayed different colors; cheers from the east side echoed across the always cold water.
Strictly business, Sally reminded herself, and pheromones be damned, she concentrated on the menu and avoided eye contact with Lance on this gorgeous day outside under an awning on the wrap- around deck.
She ordered pancakes and they arrived right away; his smoldering gaze heated the syrup as she poured more than enough to drown the large perfect pancake on her plate.
“Sally, ever since we met I can’t get you out of my mind; I’m not sleeping or eating.”
“Lance, I’m just a middle aged woman at the beginning of a new phase in my life and that doesn’t mean I’ll make the mistake of pushing someone away who has loved me for thirty five years.”
“All right, you’re mine, Sally, in business because I don’t want anyone else to grab your talent before we have a chance to work together.”
Relieved brunch ended, Sally rose, bumped into Lance on the way up and found herself wrapped in his powerful arms, their lips together. She didn’t break away until his tongue, like a heat seeking missile, plunged into her mouth and then she pushed him away with “No.”

for more snippets from talented writers:

http://www.wewriwa.com

HW CVR front

https://itunes.apple.com/us/book/help-wanted/id933546940

https://www.allromanceebooks.com/product-helpwanted-1658298-149.html

http://www.amazon.com/dp/B00OWHOGYS

https://www.smashwords.com/books/view/487447

http://www.barnesandnoble.com/s/Charmaine-Gordon

43 thoughts on “10/7/14 WEWRIWA

  1. I thought she was pretty clear, he just doesn’t want to accept that. I sure hope Sally stays strong, she and her husband have too much love and history between them to let it be destroyed. This snippet has me worried. Great job.

  2. I love it! That must have been one burning hot gaze in order to heat the syrup. You’re right, I was not around in 1941, I only read about the bombings later in school. My grandfather was in the Navy during that time, but he flew airplanes, so thankfully he wasn’t in Hawaii. Thanks for sharing your recollection of that horrid events. I must say, you are one interesting woman! xo

  3. I don’t like him, nope not one bit. My dad tells me stories of what it was like for him growing up during the war. My grandma was a Rosie riveter : )

    • Unforgettable times where neighbors grew closer, block parties all the time and then the gold stars in the windows. Painful. Lots of wonderful music from that era. “Saturday night is the loneliest night in the week. . .”The Andrew Sisters were hot with “The Bugle Boy from Company B” Rosie the Riveter -another great song about women in the factories. Bless them all. The long, the short and the tall.

  4. This guy just doesn’t give up, does he? I’m proud of Sally for sticking to her guns, can’t wait to see what she does next. Excellent excerpt! (And thanks for the personal recollection of Pearl Harbor’s effect on people at the time.) HUG!

  5. Well…she’s done stepped in it now. I’m not sure how I feel about this line: “Lance, I’m just a middle aged woman at the beginning of a new phase in my life and that doesn’t mean I’ll make the mistake of pushing someone away who has loved me for thirty five years.” She doesn’t say she’s happily married, and that’s why she’s not going to cheat, it was more of we’ve been together and he loves me. I just felt like that left it open a bit for Lance and then the fact she didn’t stop the kiss right away was another issue. Maybe that was delayed shock, but part of me thinks this new phase in her life is opening her up to wanting to see what other possibilities are out there.

    Man you got me thinking a lot in 8 sentences. Good job!

  6. It felt to me like she was trying to set both herself and Lance right, but then he stepped over the line and kissed her and that gave her the strength…..but I could be totally wrong :)….always hard to tell with only 8 sentences…..great snippet, so much happening

  7. You’ve done a lot in eight sentences here. I love how Sally is at war with herself, can acknowledge Lance’s appeal, while at the same time understanding it’s hormonal (and a bit flattering, of course) and that she won’t ever betray her husband. I’ve been there, and you’ve nailed it in just a few words.

Leave a Reply

