12/21/14 WEWRIWA

Winter Solstice and now we watch one minute of daylight enter our lives ’til spring. Wonderful.

Today’s post begins a WIP.No title, just a story that crept into my head when my granddaughter asked me to help with a project for first grade. “Grans, I have to interview the oldest member of our family and that’s you.” “Thanks a lot for reminding me.” And she began, holding a flashlight her equivalent of a mic, she spoke in a deep voice. “Where did you go to school when you were six, like me?” Like a bolt of lightning, I found myself in front of Volta Elementary School in Chicago, IL, thirty seven years ago. Two days later I began to write. Like all stories, new characters showed up so I ask wewriwa, our community of writers, to help me with constructive critique and maybe a title for this story.

excerpt in eight:

When the new adults -only community was just an idea, the construction company realized a little old house obstructed their plans so the board sent two affable members of the committee to buy out the property and relocate the owners. The young men drove up to the ancient house without paying attention to the carefully tended garden filled with vegetables ready to pick and flower beds of petunias, geraniums, and towering colorful gladiolas. Ignoring the straw baskets filled with red apples next to the door, Frank Randall rang the bell  confident that whoever lived in this old dump would be happy to move to a new house.
A trim elderly woman answered the door; “Whatever you’re selling, I’m not buying,” and shut the door.
“What the?” Frank raised his eyebrows, checked his notes and read, “Mrs. Celia Brown is listed as the owner, husband passed on ten years before and now we convince her to pull up stakes and move because the company will pay all expenses plus new appliances and air conditioning.”.
Again they rang the bell and again she said,“I’m busy, go bother someone else,” and started to slam the door but Max stopped her.
“Mrs. Brown,we work for the new community for adults-only and we’re ready to break ground but there’s one small problem;the company can’t break ground  because your house is built on part of the property necessary to the plans.”
“And why should I care about your problems, young man?”

for more snippets from talented writers:

http://www.wewriwa.com

Charmaine Gordon, author of She Didn't Say No, a mature romance

43 thoughts on “12/21/14 WEWRIWA

  1. I think I’m going to like this gal! ““And why should I care about your problems, young man?” 🙂 Good 8! I’ll have to read a little mroe before my brain will suggest a title. 😉

    Happy Solstice, Charmaine, and happy Chanukah–and Merry Christmas if you celebrate that, too. Awe heck…Happy days to you 🙂 !

  2. I’m liking this lady already! Great details about the gardens and the apples. I’m wondering, could you have one of the young men notice and the other not notice? Not necessarily an appreciation, but just realizing that hey, nice flowers!

    You start with when the new community was only an idea, but then jump ahead to these two guys being sent and saying they’re ready to break ground. Are they exaggerating about how far along the plan is?

  3. I think there’s a title within your excerpt today, Charmaine. What about something like ‘Breaking New Ground’? It could have multiple meanings. 🙂 Anywho, love the snippet and love your granddaughter for planting it in your head! Merry Christmas to you and yours!

  4. Love the story of how this piece was inspired! I already like Celia- I’ll bet she’ll give these nice young men a run for their money!

    I’m terrible at coming up with titles, but I love Evelyn’s suggestion above!

  5. A very interesting WIP, and I could already see the tension. Celia should refuse to move. I see how the house is so sentimental to her. As for a title, I’d go with “Home Wreckers”.

  6. I liked the title Evelyn suggested, although home Wreckers isn’t too bad either. I think I’m going to really enjoy this one (the way I’ve loved all your others!). Excellent excerpt, I want to live in that house.

  7. Mrs.Brown is not one to be pushed around (kind of like someone else I know…). She’s feisty and I like that. I can imagine this will be an emotionally charged fight after her many years and losing her husband while living there. It will be interesting. I look forward to more.

    BTW, I like evelynjules suggestion, Breaking Ground.

  8. They might see only the age of the house, but a smart person would realize all those signs this is a home that’s treasured. I wonder which will give in first–the company or Mrs. Brown?

  9. I love both the name suggestions, depending on which direction you take the story. Breaking New Ground suggests she finds a way to move on from her past, while Home Wreckers tells us she’s going to fight for what matters most to her. Either way, great start!

Leave a Reply

