1/4/15 WEWRIWA

Now it snows? And tomorrow we’re expecting 60 degrees then a plummet of temps for the rest of the week. New York, New York, it’s a wonderful town.

Welcome friends to WEWRIWA for snippets galore and the opp to use constructive critique the writing of fine writers.

This week- a bit more in my WIP- Breaking New Ground-title suggested by Evelyn Jules. A major Construction Company owned by the egotistical James Chandler claims to own part of the property the widow Brown has lived on for fifty years. This week -introducing Cindy Lou, Celia Brown’s granddaughter who lives with her temporarily while her mom-a Marine-is in Afghanistan. The six year old needs help with a first grade project.

excerpt in eight:
“I have to interview the oldest member of the family,” she pointed the flashlight to her Granny, and that’s you, Grans, wow, 80! you sure are way old;” she planted a wet kiss on Celia’s wrinkled cheek almost knocking her on the head with a heavy black flashlight and said, “Don’t ever die, Grans.”
“Okay I won’t if you promise not to bonk me and please tell me why are you holding that big clunker?”
Cindy giggled, “It’s for the interview, like a microphone so here we go, ready or not.”
A smile crept over Celia’s face; what fun spending quality time alone with her granddaughter while her mom’s deployed to Afghanistan like Marine after Marine, war after war, for generations the Brown family had served in one capacity or another.
A beam of light flashed into her faded blue eyes and Celia blinked as a deep voice came from Cindy’s sweet mouth, “Once upon a time you were six years old, just like me so where did you live and go to school?”
Caught up in the moment, Celia answered in a little girl’s voice. “Chicago, Illinois, and as if she’d never left the town and grown up, Celia saw the red brick school with a big sign. “Volta School. V.O.L.T.A. and my mommy bought me pretty dresses, laced up shoes, white ruffled socks and I always wore a big red bow in my hair but she didn’t like polishing my shoes ‘cause she had to wait for them to dry and use a clean cloth to make them shine.”
Cindy looked puzzled, “White shoe polish? Didn’t you have sneakers?
The clock turned forward to real time; Celia had a moment of dizziness as she came back to the present and said,
“Honey, we thought sneakers were bad men who sneaked around stealing things that didn’t belong to them”

for more snippets from talented writers:

http://www.wewriwa.com

Charmaine -10 sATURATED_pp8x10g-72y

42 thoughts on “1/4/15 WEWRIWA

  1. we had lots of snow too, i dont know what the temp yesterday, but it was so cold and windy. yet today it was sunny. I say was, because now its grey outside.
    I love that excerpt, it was very interesting indeed!

  2. Hi, lovely Rebecca. Thanks for the nifty comment on my WIP. I don’t know if you’ve been following the story about the feisty aging widow in conflict with the owner of a construction company. Angst combined with humor and a six year old granddaughter you just met. Happy New Year.

  3. I just love the humor of the piece. I’d say Granny’s years of experience and all that she has seen would certainly be a bit much for a six-year-old to comprehend. When I was a youngster I remember asking my folks how it felt to cross the plains in a wagon train – the question didn’t go over well, lol. This is a terrific snippet and definitely makes me want to keep reading.

  4. LOL, what a cute and touching Snippet. There is a lot in this eight, it was very emotional. I like the ending, but the really touching part was knowing that generation after generation had served and kind of this new tradition is now the mother. Where is the girls father, is he also serving, or is he not in the picture? Great eight!

  5. So true, Lorien. One of my sons lives in Denmark and oh the glorious fun and memories we share across the world and then there’s my youngest grandchild-what a funny delicious kid. Of course I wrote her right into this book.

  6. That dizziness worries, me Charmaine . . . I wonder if the arrogant CEO is going to be blindsided by a six-year old in sudden need of a sitter—and a Marine Mom, too! 😀

  7. Awww, loved this…and so amusing. (Also loved Chelle’s comment above about asking her family how it was to cross the West in covered wagons LOL. I seem to remember my girls asking me about the dinosaurs they assumed were in MY childhood!) I can see how Cindy Lou’s presence will cause Celia to fight the corporation that wants her land even harder. Minor MINOR nit? When I hear of a little girl named Cindy Lou, I always think of Cindy Lou Who in the Grinch. Maybe that’s just me…and I was right back into the story a second later. Can’t wait for more!

  8. I thought about using Cindy Rae or my grandest’s real name CassidyRae. After a big discussion with my munchkin she decided to play with the cats and walked out of the room. So happy you’re enjoying the story thus far. Stop by for tea? The kettle’s on.

  9. Cindy Lou made me think of the Grinch too. This is a sweet scene.

    Finally getting some snow here too, and it looks like the cold is here to stay for a week or so at least. Bad wind chills. *brr*

Leave a Reply

