6/7/15 WEWRIWA

Hi Gang,

Things are brighter in our household now. Don ‘s feeling well enough to work so I can get back to Grandest, three cats, and writing. Do you ever feel promotion takes up too much time? I do, Does anyone know mature and other blogs that might like what I write? I’d sure appreciate some direction.

Spreading Her Wings resolves one problem and heads right into another this week.

Last week, with Misty’s help,  Clarabelle, now Claire, reveals she chooses to be a costume designer.

Excerpt:

“Daddy, I love you but I don’t love what you’re doing here.”
He lit a cigar and said,“I’m busy and you’re taking me away from serious business, Clarabelle, so run along back to the stage where you belong.”
Grabbing his jacket, she wouldn’t let him leave and said, “No it’s my life so listen and don’t call me that silly name any more, call me Claire.”
“ I’ve given you everything since your Mother passed on and now you’re complaining?”
“Everything you wanted me to be but how about what I want? I’ve been taking art classes using my own money to be a costume designer and you’re not gonna stop me.”

“I just had to tell you and I don’t want you to invest money just so I could be somebody I’m not meant to be, Daddy, please forgive me.”
“Oh Geez, honey, let’s forgive each other ’cause you know I’m just a big lucky Irisher with no idea how to raise a kid all by myself.”
“Let’s get a copy of the script to read at home and daddy, one of my teachers is a widow . . .”
“Ya think it’s not too soon?”

for more snippets from talented writers:

http://www.wewriwa.com

SHW ereader with hands

Spreading Her Wings
Kindness to Strangers in River’s Edge rubs off on all who live there. Sally Kirkwood responds to an emergency call from a friend one early morning. A daughter is missing and with Sally’s skill as a reporter, she finds her at an audition in NYC. Thus begins an adventure of show business, unfaithfulness, forgiveness and success.

Also Available as Singles for all Ebook reading devices!

36 thoughts on “6/7/15 WEWRIWA

  1. Hi, Charmaine. I like how her dad isn’t so much a bad guy as a guy trying to do what he could because he didn’t want to lose his daughter. And how Misty’s advice might have brought them closer together. Only thing… I think the quotes messed me up between “…and you’re not going to stop me” and “Just had to tell you”.

  2. I do feel we spend too much time promoting when we could be writing, Charmaine. It just kills me the hours I spend on social media, writing blog posts, answering interview questions. I wish there was another way. I love that your character wants a life in the theatre and going to be a costume designer. Very cool! And I do know parents are likely not supportive of that as a major. Good for Claire!

  3. I even liked the father better this week, seeing how he is with his daughter and that he does listen to her. Nice! Really enjoying this story, glad the situation on the home front improved and everyone is feeling well again!

  4. It seems the relationship with her father is better than she thought, so glad they had a meeting of the minds with a bit of honesty. I just hope he won’t go back to his ways. Good snippet.

  5. Now I see his reasoning for wanting the best for his daughter. God, I feel your pain with promo. I’m not sure how any of it matters. Look at “Fifty Shades.” Not that I’m a fan of it, but word of mouth seems to be the far the best promo.

  6. Loads of information contained in these sentences, Charmaine. It sounds lie,k the beginning of a great story. 🙂

    I get what you’re saying about promotion. And I’m not even there yet. I’ve been platform building for 3 years. I’d have a book published if it didn’t take so much time to build. 🙂 I think the biggest thing for me is that I don’t get to write. Period. That’s the joy in it. It’s not that I don’t want success, but I know I’ll never be rich from writing (and that’s okay). I just need to make sure I enjoy what I’m doing. 🙂

    • My publisher says it’s right up there with the best of my stories. The best part is I found myself writing a script for the actors to read during audition. The same thing happened when I wrote Before the Final Curtain. More to follow and then I’ll move on.
      Re: promo-unless you have the money to hire an agency, it’s a prob.
      Thanks as always for your support, my friend.

Leave a Reply

