6/14/15 WEWRIWA

Welcome to the best blog hop in town where writers post 8-t0 sentences in a snippet and are bombarded with sincere constructive critique. Yes, you heard me, folks, because we all want to help each other improve our writing. So here goes.

Lat week in my story Spreading Her Wings, a family problem is resolved. Wealthy father realizes daughter has plans of her own and agrees to respect her ideas. Ah fiction. Don’t you love it!Intrepid reporter Sally Kirkwood calls her lecherous boss on the way back to River’s Edge. She has an idea for a story to use on his cable television station. Little does she know he still has a thing for her.

excerpt:

Lance Jordan, the smooth talker picked up, his sensual voice reminding her of last spring when they almost got involved and she said no.
“Are you ready to say yes?”
“Let’s talk business, boss, because I just witnessed quite a scene at the Shubert Theatre with a major backer for the new production, his daughter, and the producer with threats and just about everything.I learned that Johnny Epstein’s the producer and he needs a major backer or a conglomerate interested in investing in the show so he’s not beholden to this other backer with the kid.”
“ I’ll call my connections and get back to you, now what’s your angle on an interview?”
“I’m thinking about what goes on backstage, how it hurts the talented kids when a backer pushes a girlfriend or someone close with no talent into the lead.
“And the name of the play is. . .”
“Damned if I know.”

The voice of Lance Jordan could be heard saying, “Damned if I Know is a terrible name for a play.”

for more snippets from talented writer:

http://www.wewriwa.com

SHW ereader with hands

Spreading Her Wings
Kindness to Strangers in River’s Edge rubs off on all who live there. Sally Kirkwood responds to an emergency call from a friend one early morning. A daughter is missing and with Sally’s skill as a reporter, she finds her at an audition in NYC. Thus begins an adventure of show business, unfaithfulness, forgiveness and success.

Also Available as Singles for all Ebook reading devices!

38 thoughts on “6/14/15 WEWRIWA

  1. I like how she prefers to talk business before pleasure. Damned if I know would be a bad name for a play. Though, I’m not sure what name would be appropriate. Good snippet!

      • I got that sense of humor. It’s great that you added it in.

        You’re welcome. I’m glad I could help you out. If I can help out a friend, I’d gladly do it.

  2. Vaudeville comedy beat aside, I think “Damned if I Know” is a great name for a play. 😀

    I’m guessing Claire’s move to costume design hasn’t hit the grapevine, yet? Or is this an earlier snippet?

  3. Ah… so, now despite Clarabelle and her father coming to some peace, and Misty and Clarabelle becoming friendlier… now Sally’s going to stick her nose into things and get them all suspicious of each other again… yay. I do NOT want to be in either Misty or Clarabelle’s shoes at the moment. Poor girls.

  4. Funny snippet and a great exchange between the characters, just thinking that ‘Damned if I know’ would make a brilliant title for a book! A book full of questions that had never been properly answered…a book based on gossip and speculation…thanks!

  5. I was totally thinking Lance Jordan would come back with, “Damned if I Know is a terrible name for a play.” When I read on and saw that you had the same thought. lol Made me chuckle.

  6. I always enjoy your sense of humor! I do think this lady has some work to do on her skills as a reporter, but I love her enthusiasm and the way she throws herself right into each new story…enjoyed the excerpt, can’t wait for more behind the scenes fun.

  7. Actually I kind of like the name “Damned If I Know”, lol. That line was quite humorous and made me chuckle.

Leave a Reply

