6/28/15 WEWRIWA

Hi gang. Another Sunday and this one welcomes the month of July. Time do fly so let’s enjoy every moment.

This week I begin a WIP and I even have a title. Please let me know what you think. I so appreciate your comments. Some health issues have caused me to slow down. I’m not speeding through the way I usually do. Trying to fit a good story together as we all do. here goes. The Title is When Double becomes Single

excerpt:

The touch of her husband’s lips on hers warmed Sharon Michaels all the way home from the hospital. Remembering his whispered I love you before she left released a cascade of tears. She groped in her bag for a tissue, found none and used the sleeve of her good winter coat as a blotter. Mac would fix Barry. Their favorite doctor always knew the magical potion to apply. Even when Fred, their difficult teenager now in his thirties, started using marijuana and refused to stop, Mac knew what to do. Tough Love was the prescription. No driver’s license and other privileges allowed until he straightened out. So Barry’s bad cough should be easy, like the croup.

Just get home and go to sleep.

for more snippets from talented writers:

http://www.wewriwa.com

SA Charmaine pic 2 resized

38 thoughts on “6/28/15 WEWRIWA

  1. Sharon definitely has a lot in her plate. I enjoyed that tough love part with the son that was doing marijuana. Very realistic. I hope you get through your health-related issues.

  2. Oh, between her tone of desperate hope and the title of this book, I have such a bad feeling about what’s going to happen to Barry—you can’t Tough Love a disease. This is some powerful foreshadowing, Charmaine!

  3. Because it’s fiction, because of the working title,… and because you said you were starting something new, I am sure that all isn’t going to be fixed up… but what a way to start.

  4. Take good care of yourself, Charmaine. We need to see your excerpts every week! This snippet is one of those super ones I wish I could do–succinct but manages to show us Sharon’s crisis and some back story as well. Now I’m all anxious about Sharon and Barry, and Fred too for that matter!

  5. Please get back to feeling better! Sending good thoughts about that, and a hug. Enjoyed the excerpt although I too have a feeling the magical doctor isn’t going to be able to cure Barry…I’ll definitely keep reading – I’m hooked. Great excerpt!

  6. Very realistic scene. I think the mention of the son was done perfectly.

    I do hope you will feel better soon. Sending you good wishes. 🙂

  7. I agree, the cough doesn’t sound like an easy croup. Not if it put him in the hospital. But you’ve done an amazing job of giving us all we need to know to set up the story in this one paragraph. Excellent job, Charmaine!

  8. C, a wonderful excerpt. Her poignant thoughts certainly portray her fear. The detail about the errant son also gives us a wonderful glimpse of her husband’s personality and her dependence on him. Great job.
    (please feel better)

  9. The title makes me think there’ll be something sad happening with that cough. You’ve caught her fear and trepidation so well.

  10. Wow–the emotions really come through in this snippet, Charmaine. Wonderful job of reeling the reader into what she’s experiencing. And the part about their teenager’s bad behavior and the tough love–nice. Keeps it very real.

    And as for you, dear friend, please take care of yourself! A big hug to you. 🙂

Leave a Reply

