8/9/15 WEWRIWA

Humpty Dumpty went to Long Beach Island and had two great falls. The motto is Watch Your Step, Humpty. Bandaged on my left leg; bandaged on my right arm, I could only dip my left arm and right leg in the ocean and pool but man, could I boogey to the live music at the pool wearing a snazzy glam pink hat daughter selected for me.

Thanks to all of you for the suggestions as I struggled through When Double Becomes Single. My book mentions WEWRIWA in the acknowledgements once again. It will be available for purchase this very week.

I’m excited to share the good news. My latest book is about to be released. Titled When Double Becomes Single and here’s a blurb:
Before that awful night, Sharon Michaels had never even driven by herself at night, eaten alone at a table for one, or made plans on her own.
Alone after losing her husband-her rock-she’s left with a business to run, a great son and his wonderful wife and children -far away in Denmark, a bad son and his nasty wife and two teen age grandchildren she barely knows.
Step by step, she finds her way into the world of singles and learns to Survive and Thrive.

And now, as you all know I never stop writing, here’s an excerpt from a WIP my little gnarled fingers are working on.

excerpt:

About an hour from Salt Lake City, Utah and up a winding road hidden behind a tall fence, was a private religious school. Celia and Carey Costigan, residents since childhood, banished there by their mother, the girls sat next to each other in the computer room texting in twin special codes.
“Time 2 get out.”“U betcha.”“Call Uncle?”“2 nite.”
“hidden camera’s-big I’s alert.”“Not 2 worry. Texting Unc now.”
The cry for help was long in coming for the twins. A sense of gratitude to the Nuns who had cared for them since they were seven years old during the bad old days when they were dropped like garbage at the beautiful school.
“I remember her like a bad dream, the long trip from Minnesota to Utah with Mother hanging all over that guy, what’s his name?”
“Max Calhoun who wouldn’t stop long enough for us to eat or use the bathroom so when he needed gas, Jimmy sneaked us out for food and the toilet.”
“He’s the best brother ever and to think he was only twelve back then.”
“We were just about seven years old so never forget or forgive her, the bitch who abandoned us.

for more snippets from talented writers:

http://www.wewriwa.com

40 thoughts on “8/9/15 WEWRIWA

  1. I am so excited that you are continuing the Costigan family saga! I loved the first book in the series, Reconstructing Charlie, and each of the subsequent ones. It will be nice to see how the twins have turned out – write on!

  2. Two girls determined to skip out on school – there’s bound to be trouble ahead. I’m with Neva, Charmaine – I want to see a picture of the Pink Hat. 🙂

    • Here comes the whole family-reunited after so many years. Reconstructing Charlie was the first book. She came to me in a dream-this abused girl in Minnesota protecting her mother while taking care of a younger brother and twin baby sisters.

  3. So sorry about your fall, Charmaine! Hope you’re feeling much better now. And congrats on the release! I love that you just jump right into the next story without missing a beat. May the creative juices never stop flowing for you! 🙂

  4. Oh wow, you had quite the nursery rhyme adventures this week, Humpty!! But an intriguing excerpt, what a sad story for the abandoned twins. Congrats on your book releasing this week.

  5. If you’re going to hurt yourself, the ocean and pool is where you want to recover. Really involved in your story. Strong,interesting characters. Suggestion: You go from the twins on the computer using their special code to a flashback then to dialogue I assume is between the twins. Are they speaking to each other? Still on the computer? The change in tone is a bit jarring from the texty language to very full and eloquent sentences without explanation. Want to read more . . .

  6. Nancy, you’re a peach. Thanks for taking the time to read my snippet. It’s all about the brilliant twins in this snippet. They have their special code and are well spoken at seventeen but have led a sheltered life in this convent due to the ‘evil mother’ stashing them away. Now here comes the wonderful aunt and uncle from Chicago to kidnap them and give them a good life as they did for their older sister and brother. This is book four beginning with Reconstructing Charlie. She came to me in a dream a few years ago.

  7. Well I’ll do the Mod thing first. (Ahem…**clears throat**) You went a wee bit over 10 sentences. Eek. Really though, its probably because of the text speak parts. That’s always tricky. I’ve looked at different ways in books. usually in the book itself the publisher change the font or does the username then the line, but on a separate line so you can still tell its two people texting and who said what. Like…
    Celia:Time 2 get out
    Carey:U betcha
    Celia:Call Uncle?
    Carey:2 nite.

    Take a peek in the YA section in a bookstore. You’ll probably find a few examples of ways to do that.

    BUT, love the idea too of twins with crappy parents. Clever way to throw some conflict into it, Charmaine. And congratulations! And feel better too!

    • Cindy, of course you’re right so to get it in, I slid the twin speak up in a feeble attempt to stay at ten. Caught by the evil eye. I promise to be good or at least better. Thanks for not calling the cops. Hope all is well with you and yours.

  8. I am so sorry that you fell, and even worse, fell twice! Mend quickly. 🙂

    I’m so tickled that you’re working on the twins’ story now!

    Congrats on the new release, Charmaine! 🙂

  9. Teresa, my mentor, where were you when I needed you? So grandest took care of her Granny wherever we went, held my hand and admonished me to GO SLOW and WATCH Your STEP. What a pal. I wrote a lot, danced a lot and we had mucho fun. I feel fine, thanks.
    What a memory you have about Charlie and her family. Thank you for that.

Leave a Reply

