And Then She Said. . .

Grandest is seven and a half. As you know, I cover for my daughter when she has her stuff to do. The other day, Grandest came home from school where I greeted her with hugs and kisses and she grumped her way into the house saying, “I’m starving.” I checked her lunch box and it was apparent she didn’t eat anything all day so I made pasta an two meatballs and brought the dish into the small office and sat next to her. She had the computer going with an awful program in play.

“How was your day, honey? Are there any kids you know in your class?”

Her response was this. “Grans, why don’t you sit in the living room and write your book.”

In other words, get the heck out of my way while I unwind after my second day in second grade. Too much pressure for a small kid. She ate every drop of food, called out for milk, thanked me, kissed me and sent me on my way.

I did indeed write two chapters in my new story and took a little nap after feeding three cats and going on the porch to feed to huge rescue dogs who love their Grans. When daughter returned she said, “Did you have a nice nap, Mom?”

The mixed joy of being a grandmother.whendoublebecomessingleAvailable in all eformats and Amazon and B&N paperback

                                                                                                                Grandest with friends waiting for the bus first day of school before reality sets in.

2 thoughts on “And Then She Said. . .

Leave a Reply

