And Then She Said. . .

To my surprise, grandest followed all the instructions left for her yesterday. Math homework done, snack munched on and she changed into gymnastic clothes without  a fuss. Growing up is wonderful to watch. been there, done that and now I have some time to write. But wait. It’s after four and darkness falls. This grandmother has to travel to the store in my town and then drive home. Scary when it’s dark. I ask myself when did this happen, this fear of driving in the darkness.

Daughter, please come home so I can navigate without peril. She’s still young to be fearless. I’m okay by daylight but oh the night. And it’s a long long way to spring.

Are there any of you out there who feel this way? If so, please commiserate.

Best, Charmaine

Leave a Reply

