12/20/15 WEWRIWA

There’s a nip in the air, folks and I don’t like it. I even saw a few snow flakes. Phooey and I’m still wearing a sweater. Oh well.

This is the second snippet of Gleason’s Greetings. Our off beat heroine, Liz is making friends and her own brand of Valentine cards. Do you know the myth of the holiday? She finds out , makes cards, adds cupids and carries on with cuppa coffee to please customers and now chocolate chip cookies.

Excerpt:

The little bell rang at the door and in came a customer. Red ink on her perky nose, she turned around to see OH, MY, a good looking hunk.
“Good afternoon, welcome to my new shop, you’re my first customer and I’m Liz.”
“Hi yourself, I’m Roger Mathews looking for a special Valentine’s Day card so  I’ll just look around.”
She wanted to say marry me, I’ll cook and clean and have your babies, well uh no babies at her age so instead she shut her mouth and went back to the painting table when suddenly he roared with laughter.
“What’s the matter?”
He held up the ‘I see London’ card, “I’m looking for something for my mom and then I saw this one; it’s funny and in my business we never cut funny.

Intrigued, she asked a question, something she hadn’t done in a long time, “What business?”
“ Writing scripts for television, for instance and where do you get your ideas?”

“It’s no big deal, not Shakespeare and I’ll probably be out of business in a month and to think I went to Harvard.”

for more snippets from talented writers:

http://www.wewriwa.com

 

 

Charmaine Gordon, author of She Didn't Say No, a mature romance

37 thoughts on “12/20/15 WEWRIWA

  1. Anyone with a sense of humor rates a second and third look. And if he’s a hunk with a sense of humor, he’s a keeper! Hope she’s found her Valentine. Happy Holidays, Charmaine!

  2. Hey Girl Friend, it’s a plan but he’s thinking business and we’ve just begun the tale of Liz Gleason.
    Major plans for Christmas since daughter is planning to marry a wonderful man with three daughters. My head is dizzy with the thought of suddenly having three more granddaughters. All good. And my grandest 7 and a half year old now has 3 big sisters!

  3. I love her internal monologue. So freaking funny, and so exactly like what goes on in a woman’s head when she meets someone she’s incredibly attracted to. Love it! 🙂

  4. Fun back and forth between them, Charmaine. And that little tidbit–looking for a card for his mom, oh my! Now that opens all kinds of possibilities. 😉

    No post for me this week.

    I’ve been hit or miss the last month or so. Not sure I got to wish you a happy Hanukkah. I hope it was wonderful!

    And if you celebrate, have a happy Christmas, dear friend. I hope the grandest is visiting–and of course, old St. Nick. 🙂 ❤

  5. I’ve missed you, my friend Teresa and wish you and yours a glorious holiday. You’ve had so much sadness recently. Grandest will soon have 3 new sisters much older and they love her. I must learn to be a Granny and listen to the kids without talking too much. That’s what daughter says. No dancing around and writing. Oh well. Life is whizzing by.

Leave a Reply

