2/14/16 WEWRIWA

February 13th is my 85th birthday, folks. One day I’m tap dancing, the next I’m married to my first love with six children.

Last week I introduced Reconstructing Charlie to you. She’s the one with the father who had a belt. Remember him? A belt of whiskey and more.

Moving on with this weeks excerpt:

The front door banged open hard enough to rattle the dishes in the cabinet. Mom’s one treasure–a porcelain egg–rolled to the edge,teetered for a second and fell end over end to the hardwood floor. The small egg cracked with the force of a bomb. Mom stared at broken pieces from a life she had long ago. Her face turned white, every freckle showing and my fists clenched.

He staggered around waving a tire iron in the air, muscled from working a jackhammer for the city all his sorry life and ugly drunk. This time I was ready.

I wrestled it out of his filthy hands, hit him good and he lay torn up with blood everywhere on Mom’s clean floor. We were safe now because I’d done this terrible thing and I didn’t know how I could live with it.

 

http://www.amazon.com/Reconstructing-Charlie- Charmaine-Gordon/dp/0615909175
http://www.amazon.com/Reconstructing-Charlie- Charmaine-Gordon-ebook/dp/B004KKZ6WS
https://www.allromanceebooks.com/product- reconstructingcharlie-511663-152.html
https://www.smashwords.com/books/view/38890

for more snippets from talented writers:

http://www.wewriwa.com/

RC CVR

41 thoughts on “2/14/16 WEWRIWA

  1. Happy birthday, dear Charmaine! I hope you’re feeling better. ❤

    This line is so perfect: "…with blood everywhere on Mom's clean floor." It shows how the moment is normal, but nothing is normal anymore. Good book. 🙂

  2. Happy Birthday! You are such an inspiration! This was such a powerful snippet, and so different from the lovely, funny, warm things you usually give us. I could feel Mom’s heart break along with her precious egg.

    • Did you ever get to read Reconstructing Charlie? She has her secret and plans to remain a virgin. What a girl.
      Birthday was amazing as I danced with my cane and carried on. Son and wife left for Denmark, Amy and future husband came over with Chinese food and we laughed a lot. Miss you. Stop over for tea and we’ll write.

  3. Oh, Happy Birthday! I hope your day was wonderful. I loved the egg detail, and I also love that Charlie didn’t like doing what needed to be done.

    • Thanks, Elaine. A girl’s gotta do what a girl’s gotta do. On to the next phase in her life and what a change it will be.
      The birthday was joyous. Where did the years go? My kids are terrific. Paul and Eva came from Denmark to heal sick me. Amy and future husband surprised me with dinner last night and waited ’til Don came home.

  4. What a terrible thing to have to live with, but if she hadn’t it could have been far worse. Great title for the book too.
    Hope you had a fantastic Birthday! Wow, 85 years young. That’s wonderful.

  5. Karen, it’s the first in the series. Then Sin of Omission, The Catch and finally the twin sisters are rescued and brought to Chicago. Fun delicious story where all the kids learn the secret.
    Thanks for birthday wishes. I’m in the midst of a new story no. My son and his wife left for Denmark. Lots of fun as I return to better health. Bad time for a while.

Leave a Reply

