2/21/16 WEWRIWA

Sixty degrees folks. Oh yeah and do we love it in New York. Hubs takes me for a drag around the block now that I’m better. I left my cane home when I went to Grandest yesterday, first time in a long while and I am filled with possibilities.

Welcome to WEWRIWA where today I continue with Reconstructing Charlie. Last week  Charlie had to kill  dear old dad before he destroyed Mom. What happens next.

Excerpt: Mom’s thick auburn hair came loose from her bun and she looked so pretty bending over him, a finger pressed to his neck as if she was a cop. Then she wiped my fingerprints off the tire iron and replaced them with hers. I watched Mom change from quiet refined Liz Costigan to someone I didn’t know.

“I packed my clothes and ran away sixteen years ago,” she said, “I was wild and out-of-control.”

She pushed me toward the shower but I sensed she was too busy to look back so I crept to the kitchen to make sure he was really dead. His eyes had turned to an empty stare.

I watched Mom empty my clothes into a suitcase, for what, I wondered? She placed a long chain around my neck with a locket and when I said, what’s in the locket, she said, “two sisters, one wise and one foolish. Now listen hard, precious girl; money and education and don’t let the boys catch your scent, keep clean.That’s something I forgot.”

for more snippets from talented writers:

http://www.wewriwa.com/

RC CVR

 

http://www.amazon.com/Reconstructing-Charlie- Charmaine-Gordon/dp/0615909175
http://www.amazon.com/Reconstructing-Charlie- Charmaine-Gordon-ebook/dp/B004KKZ6WS
https://www.allromanceebooks.com/product- reconstructingcharlie-511663-152.html
https://www.smashwords.com/books/view/38890

 

 

34 thoughts on “2/21/16 WEWRIWA

  1. Oh no! I hope Mom isn’t about to take the fall for Charlie. She sounds like one heckuva lady.

    So glad you’re feeling better! I think the warmer weather is lifting everyone’s spirits.

  2. Glad to hear your feeling better! Poor Charlie, she just wanted to help her mom and now she’s being sent away. Nice snippet!

  3. Thanks, Marcia. Funny thing is I read Reconstructing Charlie the other night and couldn’t believe I put such a story together. All by myself, yet! Come on over and we’ll write together or we can do it online. What do you think?

  4. Such an intense scene, so much going on. I love the glimpses into the mother’s own past story. Glad to hear you’re feeling better and could leave the cane at home by itself 🙂 HUGS!

  5. Again, powerful writing. I’m sure that many mothers would sacrifice themselves for their child, just as this one intends to do (it would seem). But it will be hard and lonely for her daughter I am sure. Glad to hear you are able to manage without your stick.

  6. I’m so glad you feel better, Charmaine! being dragged around the block in 60 degree February weather is not so bad. Glad you’re up to enjoying it.

    Good snippet—I so enjoyed this book. 🙂

  7. Poor Charlie. Everything is about to change in her world. Powerful scene with the mother finally taking charge to save Charlie from what happened.

  8. I think she’s smart if she’s taking the rap for her daughter. She has mitigating circumstances, and if this behavior is documented somewhere she may not get charged. Self-defense or something. Great scene! Can’t wait to see what Charlie does or how she adapts to all the changes.

Leave a Reply

