2/28/6 WEWRIWA

How ’bout this, dear friends. We are almost into Spring. On with the shorts. . .almost Welcome to WEWRIWA and one more snitch of Reconstructing Charlie, a story that had me crying for six months until the end. I didn’t want to raise another kid. Mine were grown up and then I had a dream. Oh well. She turned out fine so here goes. Last week she killed her father to save her mother. Mom packed a bag with Charlie’s clothes and told her to run for the bus. She also gave her a note to deliver to relatives in Chicago, an aunt and uncle she didn’t know existed. She arrives, at age fifteen, in this wondrous city, hitches a ride with a cop to Lake Shore Drive. The name sounds so pretty.

excerpt: I watched the cop named Patrick Donnelly drive away and stood before the front door of a tall building that looked like a picture come to life. Mom’s letter in hand, I rang to hear chimes echo somewhere in the house; a man in black opened the door.

A woman who looked familiar , an older version of Mom, walked down a curved staircase to move as if she floated toward me and  cried out,”Elizabeth,”  with arms outstretched, she embraced me.

Mistaken identity I thought because she looked like my mom and she believed I was her sister; for a moment we both cried but just for a moment.

With hands so soft, she’d never washed a dish, she held me at arms length to declare, “You are Elizabeth’s daughter.”

She lifted  a silver bell, shook it , and the man in black appeared. “Edgar, this is my niece and she’s hungry.” His expression didn’t change as if nieces showed up every day.

“The dress you’re wearing is one I purchased for her long ago.” My elegant aunt spoke in a voice like a movie star so different from back home.

RC CVR

for more snippets from talented writers:

http://www.wewriwa.com/

 

http://www.amazon.com/Reconstructing-Charlie- Charmaine-Gordon/dp/0615909175
http://www.amazon.com/Reconstructing-Charlie- Charmaine-Gordon-ebook/dp/B004KKZ6WS
https://www.allromanceebooks.com/product- reconstructingcharlie-511663-152.html
https://www.smashwords.com/books/view/38890

If you’d like me to continue with this story, raise your right hand and yell YES! Otherwise, I can move on. I don’t want to bore my pals here. Just speak to me. I listen, hearing aids and all.

 

 

 

 

42 thoughts on “2/28/6 WEWRIWA

  1. Interesting situation you’ve forced her into. Not only is she in turmoil because of killing her dad, she gets to visit strangers. I wonder how this woman would react it she knew what Charlie had done.

  2. I love this description of when she arrived at their house. A little girl in a big world.

    Yes–spring. Soon. We turn the clocks in a couple of weeks. Evenings will seem longer. 🙂 I love this time of year. We’re on the cusp of it all.

  3. A wonderfully warm reception tempered only a little by the mistaken identity. But even after the aunt recognizes who Charlie really is, the warmth is still beautiful. It makes us cheer for this young gal who has been through so much.

  4. A comforting place to be in – after the horror of what just happened.

    lol on shorts – we’re getting snow and freezing rain for the better part of the week. But I can dream about shorts.
    Tweeted

  5. Talk about a different world. She’s certainly not in Kansas any more. I hope this gives her the new start she deserves. Everyone should have an aunt like this! Great snippet, Charmaine!

  6. Another vote for continuing! Poor thing, Charlie must be reeling. This sure is a gripping story you’re telling. I love that line “His expression didn’t change as if nieces showed up every day.”

    ~Marcia

  7. What a welcome. Everything must seem so surreal to Charlie, like she’s living another life. Leaving home. Meeting people she never knew… Interesting plot.

    • So true and yet she’s guilty in so many ways to leave her brother and little sisters and mom to live in this wonderland with a staff of help in the beautiful home. Good tale and to think I wrote it. I still shake my head in amazement.

  8. An act of violence and a new home with strangers would be a lot to handle, but I think she’s a strong girl who can cope.

Leave a Reply

