3/6/16 WEWRIWA

Hi Gang. The lying weatherman claimed we’d have seventy degrees by the middle of the week. Snow two days ago and now the sweet smell of spring. The beach calls to me. I finished one book today and another will be released 3/11 Here’s the amazing news. Vanilla Heart, my publisher is having several books translated into foreign languages and Reconstructing Charlie is one of them. I’d jump in the air with joy but I’m afraid I’d break bones on the way down.

Last week Charlie had a welcome arms greeting from the aunt she didn’t know existed. Today I’ll fill you in a bit further. After a delicious breakfast with her aunt where she learned an inside story of her mother as a child and more than she needed to know about her new aunt and uncle, aunt Eleanor showed Charlie upstairs to a guest room on the second floor.

Excerpt: She left, footsteps muffled by the thick carpet; her scent lingered, something light and sweet. The room was breathtaking with everything so perfect, matched, luxurious and a four poster bed I tried out to bounce on a few times. The past twenty four hours hit me; did the cops believe Mom or were they searching for me, the piece of shit who ran away like a coward leaving my family.

I ran to the bathroom, unbuttoned my dress to hang it up but too late my aunt was in the doorway with me in my shabby bra and panties. She had her hand over her mouth as she saw my bruises__on my back and arms.

“Oh Charlie.”

“I heal fast, Aunt Eleanor; in two weeks they’ll be gone and no one will ever hurt me again, I promise,” and a flood of tears released from me.

She held me in her arms the way I’d held Mom a million times. My aunt was older and felt kind of fragile but I bet she had a core of steel. Backing away with tears in her eyes, my aunt left, her silk dress spotted with my guilt and shame.

for more snippets from talented writers:

http://www.wewriwa.com/

RC CVR

 

http://www.amazon.com/Reconstructing-Charlie- Charmaine-Gordon/dp/0615909175
http://www.amazon.com/Reconstructing-Charlie- Charmaine-Gordon-ebook/dp/B004KKZ6WS
https://www.allromanceebooks.com/product- reconstructingcharlie-511663-152.html
https://www.smashwords.com/books/view/38890

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

44 thoughts on “3/6/16 WEWRIWA

  1. Congratulations on finishing a book and having this story translated! Such an emotional excerpt! Charlie has been through so much.

    • I believe if you keep writing, something good happens to you. At best I hope so. I wrote this about five years ago. It became a series and I didn’t even know what that meant being a newbie back then. The latest book ties up secrets and the joys of family.

  2. Excellent Charmaine! You capture well the guilt victims feel, like its her fault but the aunt sees the truth. Wonderful job!
    And congrats on the foreign language publishing. Wow! So exciting!

  3. Wonderful excerpt! You’ll have readers so caught up in Charlie, they’ll be crying too. More congrats on the foreign language publishing, that’s awesome news!

    ~Marcia

  4. What a beautifully crafted piece. Heartfelt and poignant. Good luck with the new books, and they tell me that jumping (within reason) strengthens bones! But perhaps better not try.

  5. A bittersweet scene today, heart tugging. I just want to give your character a big hug! Powerful writing indeed….Congratulations on your book getting chosen for the foreign market – very exciting! YAY!

  6. Congrats on your news! What a poignant snippet today…love how she’s promising her aunt she won’t be hurt again, like she has to make it okay for other people. A real caretaker. Great bit of characterization.

  7. I agree with everyone.

    Yay–and congrats! Reconstructing Charlie in foreign language! I am so happy for you, and so proud of you!

    And don’t give up on the weather. I hear we have a big warm up coming starting tomorrow–for two weeks.

    Hugs, my friend.

  8. Wow, that’s a hard hitting excerpt. In just a few lines, I really feel for Charlie. I can only guess what she’s been through, not having read the whole story, but I got a wealth of emotions in just these few lines. Nicely done.

  9. Yes, that line at the end is an absolute gem! Well done, indeed! You can’t help but wonder if Charlie is going to have a breathing space now. And congratulations on the foreign translation! Bravo!

Leave a Reply

