3/13/16 WEWRIWA

Daylight saving Time. Don’t you love it?

Another ten from Reconstructing Charlie and maybe I’ll move on since my latest book, Together, Again was just released and I’m ecstatic. The last piece of the series is finished and will soon be translated in Spanish and French. Folks, I’m thrilled, to say the least.

Charlie and Aunt Eleanor go shopping:

Excerpt:A knock at the door and she entered dressed to shop; pretty in a white sweater set with pearls, a print silk skirt and white pumps, the picture of a summer garden. By comparison, I looked like a lumberjack next to my aunt.

We sat in the big limousine driven by Robert and drove to a place called the Magnificent Mile, Michigan Boulevard.”What are the latest fall fashions for my niece entering high school?” Corrine, the salesperson rattled off a list: “form fitting tee shirts short in length showing a hint of bare midriff with wide blue jeans;leggings with slouch socks and white Keds and long loose sweaters.”

I didn’t have a clue about leggings and slouch socks but when she said bare midriffs, I thought-get me out of here.

I needed something to cover my butt and androgynous was my style.

Over lunch, Aunt Eleanor confided in me,”Stuart and I were never blessed with children and now you’re here with us. Somehow, fate in the name of Elizabeth,brought you to our door and I want you to know you may trust me although I’m not your mother.”

The waiter came and I ate my first shrimp salad thinking of what she just said.

for more snippets from talented writers:

http://www.wewriwa.com./Reconstructing Charlie new eyes

 

 

http://www.amazon.com/Reconstructing-Charlie- Charmaine-Gordon/dp/0615909175
http://www.amazon.com/Reconstructing-Charlie- Charmaine-Gordon-ebook/dp/B004KKZ6WS
https://www.allromanceebooks.com/product- reconstructingcharlie-511663-152.html
https://www.smashwords.com/books/view/38890

 

 

 

 

39 thoughts on “3/13/16 WEWRIWA

  1. What I find more confusing than Daylight Savings Time is NOT going on DST when everyone else does. Ever since I moved to Arizona, which doesn’t do DST, I’ve been utterly confused about what time my out of state friends and relatives are on.

  2. Funny how people who never had kids think of them like oversized Barbie dolls.

    We don’t do DST, just African Time which can be fairly arbitrary, depending on where you are!

  3. She’s very lucky to have Aunt Eleanor.

    I’d forgotten about DST until I came to your blog. With the time springing forward, I didn’t get up as early as I thought!

  4. Congratulations on the upcoming translations! It is a big change for Charlie with this completely different lifestyle. Will be interesting to see how she adjusts along the way.

  5. I hope Charlie ends up taking advantage of everything that’s offered her. Change can be a good thing.
    I remembered DST but resent it as now I’ve lost an hour of writing time on my last day of Spring Break. Grrr.

  6. lol – slouch socks – brought back a memory- they were in fashion a while back. My daughter had a pair she wouldn’t take off. She’d sit by the dryer waiting for them to finish. Her after school sitter kept complaining about the socks because when she (the sitter) would pull them up — they’d just slouch — and it drove her crazy. She thought the socks were broken or something.
    Great snippet.
    Tweeted.

  7. So much change for Charlie. I can sense how she’s feeling overwhelmed as she’s taking it all in.

  8. LOL! I love the line where she hears bare midriff and thinks “get me out of here.” A good glimpse at characterization here.
    Daylight Saving…so naturally, we spring ahead on a night when my mind decided to be wide awake. Wide. Awake. I need my hour of sleep back! ::yawn::

  9. This rings very true to life. Hope the aunt realizes that Charlie has a lot to work through. Being overwhelmed with too much is as bad as having nothing. I hate daylight savings time.

  10. What a fun snippet in all regards! I loved the description of the aunt looking like a beautiful garden and it kept going from there. Excellent excerpt! Personally, I loathe the Spring Forward part of DST. Seems so unfair to lose sleep LOL. HUGS!

  11. Eleanor has no idea about the impact of her words “you may trust me although I’m not your mother”. Great snippet

Leave a Reply

