WEWRIWA Now What? a book to love

Two months after Bob died, my three closest friends since childhood came over for one of our potluck dinners, a tradition whenever discussion was called for.  They entered without knocking, footsteps clattered down the hallway to the kitchen where I waited. The dogs, Sarge, a German Shepherd, and Jesse Girl, a sleek mixed Lab-Setter, wagged waited without tails with tongues salivating from fragrant aromas. Instead of rushing to set down covered casseroles, my friends stopped and stared at the large calendar tacked to the wall. Across the top, I’d printed the letters A B D with a black marker.

new snipet:

“What’s A B D”, Cindy said.

“After Bob Died.”

In the brief silence that followed and sad glances between Jana, Cindy and Myrna, I knew they believed I needed a lot of help from them. What I needed was privacy to sort things out for my self.Three pair of eyes fastened on me with single minded purpose as I absently spooned beef stew on my plate without appetite.

“Don’t stare at me and don’t worry about me.” I said, The ABD calendar is my way of making sense of each day since Bob died.”

“It’s blank,” said Cindy.” so I guess nothing makes sense to you right now.”

for more delightful snippits:

http://www.wewriwa.com/Now What newstyle 3D

39 thoughts on “WEWRIWA Now What? a book to love

  1. I can’t say anything would make sense to me after such a loss. I feel for her. And I’d want to be left alone, too. Great snippet! 🙂

  2. Wow, Charmaine. This really hit home for me. You wrote the emotions perfectly. This line stood out: “It’s blank,” said Cindy.” so I guess nothing makes sense to you right now.” – It’s so true, that nothing seems to make sense after losing someone so dear, and you feel a bit lost yourself, walking around in a fog. Wonderfully written!

    • Julie, you are so fabulous, a treasure of a woman. Two words for him and they ain’t Happy Birthday. A teacher and a writer-good combination woman with a brain. There is someone out there just for you, meanwhile take one step and then another. I did it. So can you.

  3. Julie, you are so fabulous, a treasure of a woman. Two words for him and they ain’t Happy Birthday. A teacher and a writer-good combination woman with a brain. There is someone out there just for you, meanwhile take one step and then another. I did it. So can you.

  4. Fascinating snippet. I like her approach to life ABD, very level headed and she seems to know what she needs to do. But i’m glad she has some good friends too! HUGS to you, my friend.

  5. As close as friends are, they cannot take away the burden of grief from someone, but they can be there when the widow comes to terms with her new life without her husband. A very poignant and moving piece, Charmaine.

  6. It takes time to cope with any loss–especially a big one like this. Why should anything have to make sense soon afterwards? Of course, everyone heals differently, but some friendship might help.

  7. This is so sad. I think death of a mate is one of the things people fear the most. I have a friend whose wife died three years ago, and he’s finally healing and getting along with his life.

    • You can’t live in fear. When I lost my precious first love, I didn’t know what to do but eventually I made a life for myself and all the kids. I did meet a nifty widower and eventually we married and are growing old together. My fall was an awful blow to both of us and now he helps me in so many ways. I pray I’ll return to good health and not feel so damaged. Thanks, my friend.

  8. Ugh, I don’t think I could read this entire book, even now, since my own Bobby died. I rarely left the house for 2 years, that’s how alone I wanted to be to sort things out….VERY realistic snippet.

  9. I sometimes think the Regency period had it right–you mourned your husband for a year, giving you time to grieve and learn to heal. People expected that and helped you through it, but you knew you weren’t alone, even as you were alone. Great snippet that expresses that same safety net of friends in the modern period.

Leave a Reply

