Now What? You’ll love it

The rest of the evening was spent in companionable silence with only the rustle of silence of paper disturbing the silence.  I watched as they traded stories , pointed to phrases, chuckling now and then, wiping away a tear. Waving a paper, Jana said, Read this and Cindy agreed.

Jana’s rich dramatic voice began. “My pastel life turned to inky blackness after Bob died. Wandering through our–my home, a memory in every corner, the rest of life loomed ahead like a mystery to be solved. I didn’t want to go on without him.My footsteps faltered  when I reached his home office. Automatically my fingers curled into a fist ready to knock on the carved door he loved.

This is background. Then I move into the story. Thank you. Also I have trouble following ever since the fall. It’s a little bit better but still troubling. All part of the accident.

Exposit:

“Carly, the Fairview Weekly News is owned by Brent and Grace Anderson, clients of mine and I’d like to show them a few of of your stories maybe toward writing a column. “Now What?How would you feel about writing for a local paper?

“But what would I say?”

“Start with what happened after Bob died , your feelings and don’t hold back.”

“And what will that do?”

“Other women will read your column, and be inspired,to  try at least one of your escapades and that’s a good thing.

Days later , when I’d given up hope of hearing from Jana, she called saying The owners asked me to come in for an interview.

Shocked, I was ready to appear but what to wear until I found something to put on and actually wrote my first column, just in case.

For delightful snippets,

http://www.wewriwa.com/

 

29 thoughts on “Now What? You’ll love it

  1. Wow, those 2 opening paragraphs had a lump in my throat!
    I agree with Jessica, she needs some catharsis to get on with her life, writing might be it.

  2. I sympathize with the nerves along with column writing. I’m doing that now. 🙂
    As a side note as a mod I can’t tell which is your snippet. Can you stick to 10 sentences? From this it looks like you have two. Thanks Charmine!

  3. What a great idea for a column. I know writing has become very therapeutic for me, and I’m sure the same will be true for her. Wonderful job! 🙂

  4. You’ve captured the essence of grief. Is moving on abandoning the one you loved? Is their death your death? Or does life continue into something completely new without them? Great snippet. I think she’s moving on since she’s worried about what to wear. 🙂 (Glad you’re feeling better.)

    • I learned a lot about grief before I wrote the book. I did meet a man and got married eventually.. We are growing old together especially now that I had the bad fall. Life has changed. Thanks Gem. I so enjoy your stories. At this point I am selecting one to own.

Leave a Reply

