Veterans Loved and still Love

I wrote a book Farewell/Hello taking my experiences from life to weave them into this story. Picture 1944, an era prior to the Korean War. Chastity was still valued especially in the home where I grew up. From the time I was very young, mother said to  beware of boys. They wanted ‘privileges’ from pretty girls like me. I didn’t understand what she meant by that word. And then I met the most popular boy in high school and fell in love. He carried my books home from school. He met my parents. Father was very stern. Who was the boy? His father owns a chicken store on the West side and a building near us. So what. He’s not good enough for you!

548906_4036438705752_303365653_n

For the first time in my young life, I didn’t listen. In my own quiet way, I knew in my heart this boy would be mine. We would marry one day and have a good life.And then the war came along. He enlisted in the Army before his Draft number was called. He knew he’d get into the Air Corp soon.

I went to school head up, tears in check., still the virgin and when I graduated, I went to Purdue University in Indiana. On Sundays we found a way to call each other even though I dated football players, basketball players , neglected homework, kissed a lot of guys but allowed NO PRIVILEGES! After two years of having fun, Dad said NO MORE and I went home to enroll in a wonderful art school on Michigan Boulevard. Five days a week!

My sweetheart did become a part of the Strategic Air Command headed up by General Curtis Le May.

Farewell/Hello is a fictionalized story of that era combined with touches of my pilot and me. We married, raised a batch of kids. He served our precious country through a war. Our motto for a happy marriage was Always talk things through, keep smiling and love each other.

He died much too soon.

A couple of years later I met my second Veteran. We met, fell in love, and here we are, my sailor and me.

10565219_10202759512405320_3484045201100648786_n

We met at a Recycling Single Men party in New Jersey and were drawn to each other right away. The widow and the widower!FH CVR 3D

Love, it can happen to you!

Thanks for your service, Veterans. Love from Charmaine Gordon

7 thoughts on “Veterans Loved and still Love

Leave a Reply

