Another World

Another World (1964–1999)

Plot Summary

  • The continuing story of life in the Midwestern town of Bay City, and the love, loss, trials, and triumph of its residents, who come from different backgrounds and social circles. Those who call Bay City home include the Matthews, Cory, Frame, Winthrop, Love, Hudson, Harrison, and Burrell families.

    Written by swissJohn29

  • During the sweet time when I was a full fledged actor in New York, work came from every direction. One day, one of my five agents, you see I worked free lance back then, called for me to see the big honcho at Another World. I had to audition for something. Excited, I drove to her office in the city. She gave me a script. I read. She asked me to dance as in ball room style with her. I did. And she said, “You’re perfect.” Words to live by. I drove home to the suburbs. Over the George Washington Bridge on to the beautiful drive all the way home. The words, “I am perfect”drummed in my head. It’s not often an important person in the business says those words to a small fish in the big pond. . The next day I got the call to report to Another World in a far away place. Not in New York where I’m familiar. No. I had to drive through tunnels and bridges and I got very confused and finally I arrived to park in the street. Not easy, not at all.
  • They sent me to wardrobe. That was fun. Since I’m petite, the wardrobe women had a good time finding the neatest clothes for me to wear. A sequined bodice worn with a black silk skirt. And then to makeup where they rearranged my face and hair. Like WOW! I still had no idea what my part was. Then came the reality. The scene took place in a restaurant with music. My date was a nice guy I’d worked with many times. We were to dance. I had to lead because Jack didn’t have a clue.  Then we’d sit on order, chat, rise to dance again. Very  well kind of boring but kind of fun.
  • The good thing was the time frame for this daytime drama lasted for a few hours then the next group came in. So home I went to return the following day.

It was great while it lasted, one year. The cast always made me feel at home. That’s why I call those years the SWEET time of my life.

Thanks for stopping by, my friends.

Happy Thanksgiving, Charmaine

2 thoughts on “Another World

  1. What an interesting life you have led, Charmaine, actress and now novelist. Much more interesting than mine as a farmer. Have a wonderful Thanksgiving. Unfortunately that is something we don’t celebrate here in the UK. Perhaps we should.

Leave a Reply

