A Word or two About Carrie Fisher

You may know about my past as an actor years ago before I lost my voice. I had the privilege of working with many fine actors and directors during those years. I got the call for the movie When Harry Met Sally. Dress for a wedding scene said the casting director. That meant pack at least five terrific dresses in hope that someone would approve at least one and she did. Oh happy day.

I drove way downtown early in the morning, parked at my own expense, shucks!, and hurried into the building with no idea about the movie, the stars, anything. The only thing I knew was that I had a week’s work and that was way cool. The great news, it turned out, was that Billy Crystal, Meg Ryan and Carrie Fisher were top billing.

During Rob Reiner, the director asked Carrie Fisher to lead all of us in a song. he joked, “Carrie, you know how to sing, don’t you? I do believe your parents are well known performers.” He referred to Debbie Reynolds and Eddie Fisher. She shrugged her shoulders and picked up this mic. Her voice so clear and lovely as we all jumped in. I’ll always treasure that moment.

She walked down the aisle as if she was really about to be married, so innocent and happy. My favorite words that she spoke while talking to her best friend, Meg Ryan, “You’re right, you’re right. I know you’re right.” She repeated that several times, a laugh line yet so poignant.

Rest in Peace at long last, Carrie Fisher.

 

 

 

5 thoughts on “A Word or two About Carrie Fisher

Leave a Reply

