Grandest at one year old.

Almost eight years have flown by since this sweet picture was taken.”Smile,” said daughter,  click went the camera. In February, we will both move up. Grandest will be nine years old and I, how did this happen, will be 86. That is downright ridiculous ’cause this woman still shakes her booty while dancing with a cane, since the big FALL! and sings with a plaintive small voice since my lovely voice left town about eleven years ago.

Yet I stand as tall as my 5 foot 3inch frame can go and say, “What the hey? I’m still writing and having fun so forget about it. Or fugeddabodit somewhere in New Yorkese.

So I ask you all to keep smiling and think of us as we truck along the highway of life. Speaking of truck-that’s a dance we called truckin’ way back having fun even before jitter bug dancing hit the scene. And what a scene it was. My first love and I won many trophies dancing back then and along came the exotic rhumba, then the cha, cha, cha and samba and merengue. Exotic dances all. We learned them aand loved every moment of that wonderful phase of our married life after the Korean Conflict where he was a pilot in the Strategic Command for General Curtis LeMay, a key figure later with the Cuban Missile Crisis in conference with JFK and Senator Robert Kennedy.

Memories, sweet memories.Image may contain: one or more people, people sitting, baby and indoor

All the chatter about the war recalls a book I wrote, a book of fiction yet there is so much in there of the reality of the times, I’d so appreciate you checking it out.

Titled Farewell, Hello, the story will take you back to a special time in history, before the Pill, when chastity was in, and men opened doors for women as a courtesy.

FH CVR 3D

By an odd coincidence, I actually have this very same dress hanging in my closet. This cumbersome leather suitcase is similar to the one my parents gave me as one of my wedding gifts. Again, memories, sweet memories.

Available in all formats. Look in Amazon under my name and also Barnes & Noble

Thanks for stopping by to share a taste of my life, my friends.

Charmaine Gordon

6 thoughts on “Grandest at one year old.

  1. Happy birthday to the wee one–and to her grandma!! My Nattiecakes–oldest granddaughter, turned 9 in November. Yes…where did the time go?

    I loved this post, and following along with your memories.

    Hugs, my friend. ❤

  2. Your comment warms my heart. At almost nine, my youngest grandchild plays basketball on a winning team, reads like a whiz and teaches computer mysteries to me. She holds my hand when we’re outside and cautions me to be careful the way I did to her not so many years ago.

Leave a Reply

