Chef’s Surprise-My latest Release

I’m excited to announce my latest release Chef’s Surprise. Here’s a taste from the beginning:

Excerpt:

Teenage Reva Mercer had a dream; one day she’d gather her saved dollars and Pa’s hidden coins, make a run for the bus to leave the darned Keys, always so hot, too much work, and head for the Nursing College where she’d learn to care for sick people. Not drunks and fools and she’d have a real life with decent folks.

One night, that’s exactly what she did, with him sleeping and her all packed for her oh-so so- near better life.

Of course, plans don’t always work out just right. Officer O’Brien pulled up next to Reva just as she was ready to board the bus. “And where are you going this night, young lady?”

The young woman gave him the flirty eyes that knocked him out every time and when he grabbed her arm, she pulled away in time. The horny officer, thinking better of the hassle and paperwork ahead instead of a cozy beer and the game on the tube, left the beauty to her own and the bus left him scratching his head with a frown on his broad face.

“Oh Lord, save me from this place and I’ll never return,” she muttered and sat, backpack on her lap.

Β for more snippets:

http://www.wewriwa.com

 

 

cvr-chefs-surprise-ereader

http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/chefs-surprise-charmaine-gordon/1125529990?

https://www.kobo.com/us/en/ebook/chef-s-surprise

https://www.amazon.com/dp/B01N37DGLU

Thanks for your support,

Hugs, Charmaine

 

42 thoughts on “Chef’s Surprise-My latest Release

  1. Congratulations on your new release and your new story! I know what it’s like trying to round up a cat to take to the vet, so I’m sure she has plenty of aches in her neck for the blue-eyed man to massage. πŸ˜‰

    • I’ve jus changed the gist of my excerpt to give you the taste of my latest book. Whatever was I thinking late last night not sharing the excitement of Chef’s Surprise. Thanks Ed. I had an awful scratch when one of the cats ran over my face. requiring facial surgery.Oh the blood and hysteria that day!

  2. Oh, man. Go to the vet and get a massage! I’m going to the wrong place! Nice meet, Charmaine. Congrats on the release!

  3. Nancy, very fictional funny. I’ve just changed my post to share the excitement of my latest release, Chef’s Surprise. So involved with the tennis match between the Williams sisters at the Australian Open, I lost focus on WEWRIWA and my new book.

  4. Lol I was scratching my head a bit at the previous comments, until I realized you changed the excerpt. I kept thinking, “Huh. How am I missing the bit about the cat?” πŸ˜€ Congrats on your new release, my friend! This is a great opening!

    • I wrote this during recuperation from the awful fall last spring. My son Paul in Denmark wrote back and forth helping my poor mind recover step by step. To see the story come to fruition warms my heart,. Thanks for your encouragement, dear friend.

  5. Congrats again on your new release! Sounds like she made it that far on her way to her new life, but we all know, things don’t always go as planned. πŸ™‚

  6. Congrats on the new release, Charmaine! I think she’ll go full circle and find her way back to where she started. πŸ™‚ By the way, I loved the intro–it was “punny”, giving us a taste of Chef’s Surprise. πŸ™‚

  7. A taste of her famous Key Lime Pie runs through the story. Yes it does. I got a kick out of your comment, Teresa. It’s not a cookbook but rather a young girl’s struggle to become a name in a man’s Chef world in NYC and she does it in spades and of course, so much more to this rousing tale of Survive & Thrive.

  8. Well, she got away, that’s good. Now what’s next?

    I see from the other comments you had a cat run in. Yesterday I got the pointy end of a cat at a shelter I volunteer at–he freaked out and climbed me, hooking his claws into my neck and ear. Thankfully, it wasn’t too bad. Hope you’re okay!

  9. It was a bad one requiring plastic surgery. He ran across my face while I slept. YIKES! Now I keep the bedroom door closed. What’s next for my new book is the journey of a brave, pretty girl who knew ways to move up in the world and she does in a most interesting way. Thanks, Caitlin.

  10. Congrats on your new release! Always exciting. Enjoyed the snippet. Glad she finally made it onto the bus. Her sigh of relief came through.

  11. I too was befuddled by the references to cats and a blue-eyed man. LO(L But congrats on the new release. If she’s going off to be a nurse, I guess the chef is a surprise! πŸ™‚ Great beginning.

Leave a Reply

