Chef’s Surprise-my latest release

Hi gang, last week I introduced Chef’s Surprise from page one. She ran from a sad life to begin again, far from Grassy Key and Pa, so nasty she needed to change her life. Pretty Reva, age sixteen, managed to slip through the arms of the cop to settle in on a seat on the bus, the box of stolen money stashed in her old backpack.

Excerpt: The hours passed, dawn came and before much longer the bus stopped at a pretty section of Florida with a big sign to direct exhausted Reva to the college. She staggered off the bus after only a few hours of sleep and one peanut butter and jelly sandwich made at home. Backpack slung over a weary shoulder, Reva trudged up the glistening crushed stone walkway to the front gate and stumbled in.

A kind older woman greeted her with the nicest words she’d ever heard; “You must be our long lost Reva Mercer,” and right before the woman’s eyes, Reva crumpled to the floor.

A bowl of stew revived her long enough to answer questions do your parents approve you entering our program? and how old are you? and what about tuition?

She considered lying, thought twice to embelish truths to get by; “My Mother died when I was born; Pa forced me to work in his diner until I ran away after I learned to be a good cook by reading cookbooks in the library at the next Key.” The matron prompted her with the issue of money and Reva opened the box filled with dollars and coins that spilled all over the floor and all Reva did as she gathered her money, was giggle.

“Please let me stay even though I’m sixteen because I have experience in eldercare and cooking and I’ll never let you down.”

Four years later, degree in hand, Reva Mercer made her way to New York City to compete with the best chefs in town, a woman in a man’s world.

For more snippets:

http://www.wewriwa.com

One night, she ran. For the bus to freedom and a new life. She had a plan, and a small box of cash.

With grit and determination, the young girl learned more than lessons at nursing college, the first part of her plan.

Someday, she would become a top chef, but for now, she’d claw her way up the ladder.

There is payback for every crime, and sometimes the payback is more than satisfactory.

 

 

cvr-chefs-surprise-ereader

Grab your copy today!

Nook

http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/chefs-surprise-charmaine-gordon/1125529990?

Kobo

https://www.kobo.com/us/en/ebook/chef-s-surprise

Kindle

https://www.amazon.com/dp/B01N37DGLU

 

Apple

https://itunes.apple.com/us/book/id1197896581

42 thoughts on “Chef’s Surprise-my latest release

  1. Sounds like a wonderful story. I love stories about women fighting to make their dreams come true.I just one-clicked! I have several books ahead of it in my Kindle, but I’m looking forward to reading it.

  2. What a relief for her to have that chance. I wonder if her past will catch up with her. Great snippet! 🙂

  3. I’m glad she’s done well for herself. Hopefully, she’ll continue to have success, but I have a hunch she’ll experience a few speed bumps.

Leave a Reply

