And now I have four. . .

Once upon a time, nine years ago this very day, grandest came into my life. We shared many years together while daughter worked as a teacher. I wrote my books while she napped in a crib. Once she threw one leg over the side in an attempt to climb out. “No,” I cried out and rushed to lift her smiling face and squirming body up and out. The race was on when she crawled toward the open office door when I turned my back to lower the crib’s mattress. This Granny flew across the room to stop the fleeing munchkin. My heart pounded, we both giggled at our adventure. When I placed her back, deeper into the depth of the crib, she discovered a new trick. Drawers filled with her clothes went flying to the floor because little fingers found a way to pull the knobs toward her small self to find gold! I had almost finished a hot scene in the latest romance but I closed up the computer for later when Miss Dynamite left for home. Off we went on a sunny spring morning where she learned words like flowers, daffodils, crocus and birds. What a day!

This, dear readers, you must learn about grandest. At six, when I drove her home from school, while attempting to open the door, I slipped, fell into a deep crevice next to the house. Picture this: a stone step way up to the house; it’s winter and I fall and cannot get up, trapped, wedged in. I said, “Honey, you will have to save me right now. I’m stuck so pull with all your strength and maybe I’ll try to wiggle my way out. Without a word except to say, “I’ll save you, Grans,” she tugged and tugged while I kind of wiggled and somehow I got up with her help. She unlocked the door, helped me in and told me to lie down on the couch. A wet cloth she brought to me, was laid across my face. Then a bottle of cold water was placed next to me. After a while, she made up a game with a soft big ball. She tossed it to me. I tossed it back. Then she rummaged through my purse to find the cell phone and reported the injury to her Mom, still at school.

Fast forward two and a half years pass. This happened last April, 2116. I had a dreadful fall in her bedroom early one morning, on the hardwood floor. That ended my life as I knew it. I heard her scream, “Mommy, Mommy, Granny fell and she’s not moving.” Daughter ran in, called for a substitute teacher, called an ambulance, called my husband. I lost myself that morning. It has taken months of rehab and fierce determination to reclaim myself. I continue to write my stories of Survive and Thrive because that’s who I am.

Twice, grandest saved my life. I will never forget those times we shared.

Happiest Birthday, dearest Grandest C.R. and now there are four. Three sisters to fill her life with more joy.

Image may contain: 4 people, people smiling, people sitting, child and indoor

2 thoughts on “And now I have four. . .

Leave a Reply

