I missed the boat!

I read somewhere, an author needs a street team, friends who assist in promoting her book. Hmm, where were all the folks who were supposed to jump in and help?  When my first book was published, I belonged to a group of writing friends. Since I was the first one published and knew nothing about promotion, I also knew nothing about jealousy. Instead of assisting me, being happy for me, they turned their backs. YIKES, I thought and soon left the group to join another group in hopes of learning more.

And I did. I learned they were not happy when one of my books was optioned for a television movie and they made disparaging comments about that. I still didn’t think about Street Teams, so important in sales and reviews. Seven years of writing delicious books Survive and Thrive stories about strong women who are not afraid to begin again. I’m just waking up to recognize I don’t have a Street Team and don’t know where to find one.

Meanwhile, I need readers to enjoy my latest release Chef’s Surprise and reviews are critical to the publisher. Someone loves my baby.

One night, she ran. For the bus to freedom and a new life. She had a plan, and a small box of cash.

With grit and determination, the young girl learned more than lessons at nursing college, the first part of her plan.

Someday, she would become a top chef, but for now, she’d claw her way up the ladder.

There is payback for every crime, and sometimes the payback is more than satisfactory.

 

 

cvr-chefs-surprise-ereader

Grab your copy today!

Nook

http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/chefs-surprise-charmaine-gordon/1125529990?

Kobo

https://www.kobo.com/us/en/ebook/chef-s-surprise

Kindle

https://www.amazon.com/dp/B01N37DGLU

Thanks for stopping by. If you are interested in being part of my Street Team, let me know. Prizes and fun involved.

Charmaine

4 thoughts on “I missed the boat!

  1. I’ve never had a street team either, Charmaine. And I don’t use beta readers either. What you get is unadulterated me! I’ve bought Chef’s Surprise and will review it when I read it.

  2. A Street Team (now they’re more like Advance Review Teams) can be beneficial. I have a small one. But they also require maintenance. You have to continually recruit to make up for members who get busy and can’t help anymore.

    They are not essential though. There are so many other ways you can spend your promotional efforts: newsletters,virtual book tours, Facebook, discounts, paid advertising, etc.

Leave a Reply

