Aging. . .what you lose

Today was an exceptionally wonderful day, weather wise. We worked outside, shovels digging up weeds in order to plant bulbs; a task I’ve enjoyed most of my long life. And then I gazed around the area to find huge boulders, some smaller, to frame the area. And so I lifted each one to form a circular effect for when the bulbs blossomed.

Yes, that’s what I did, for several hours and folks, the task had the feel of beyond difficulty. I didn’t stop until finished and then, OH the Pain in my lower back! How dumb can you get? I didn’t think, I just dug, pulled, picked up heavy stones until I could hardly walk. And then sadness overcame me, me the happy one.I said to my hubs, this is another thing you lose as you age. The strength of youth; the stamina to do it all. A few bad words came to me and I released them. I’m happy to be alive; happy to write my books and see my daughter and granddaughter and grand dogs and grand hamster and don’t forget our four cats so devoted. And then there is my hubs who shares sickness and health.

That’s the good side, right? Forgive me if I whine about things I’ve lost like lifting heavy rocks and digging weeds. My dear Pain Management Doctor will take care of me tomorrow to lessen the pain and he will give me shake of the head and say, NO! Don’t do that again.

Love to all, Charmaine

2 thoughts on “Aging. . .what you lose

  1. Sorry you exceeded your strength and stamina limit. It’s tough, when you’ve been fit and active all your life, to accept the limitations of ageing. I worked for years on our farm, and my doctor says that I lifted weights my body wasn’t designed to do, and now I’m paying the price. But, as you say, you have so many positives in your life to balance against the pain. Hope it goes soon.

  2. Thanks, my dear friend. Not to worry. A percoset and I feel better already although weariness has set in. Hubs is working and I just fed all the sweet cats. Time to read while on the bike to nowhere and maybe off to sleep. Maybe. Love to you and I do hope your Dad is doing well.

Leave a Reply

