A Daughter. . .a treasure

Fifty years ago, my youngest and only daughter was born. It seemed like an easy task after having all the sons. I had no idea what was in store for me, for us, as the months went by. My closest friend, we lived in the Boston area back then, and when my situation became dire, I asked him where to go. Without taking a breath, he said, “You must see the famous Dr. Easterday immediately. And we did after leaving our sons with the good doctor and his wonderful wife in charge of our family, my husband and I drove through the worst rainy weather to finally arrive at the Boston Lying In Hospital where we woke up this sleeping giant of a kind man who said he would do everything he could to save the baby. And so the months went by where I couldn’t lift our two year old, or do housework but we managed and then came the day.

Hubs left me at the hospital with plans for the new baby to be born about noon. At eleven I was in the labor room and my dearest Mother appeared. She stayed right behind me all through the subsequent hours. You see, she died when I was twenty nine and she was only fifty. When I was having my baby, I had reached thirty six. Silently I felt Mom’s beautiful presence.
The doctor hurried in, distressed that the baby had not moved along. He said he would do a C-section but suddenly I felt her drop and called to him. She was ready. The birth went fine, I had a girl; the room was packed with all the kind people who had been involved in the difficult birth.

The trouble began in the recovery room. Massive hemorrhaging that wouldn’t stop and transfusions that didn’t take. The doctor told me he would try an old method in hopes of saving my life. Back on the operating table I went when suddenly I left my body and traveled down a tunnel with a glorious light. Peace and quiet as I traveled along but before I reached my goal, I had a thought. “I can’t leave my husband to raise all these children.” And like a flash, I was back on the operating table. Then in my private room in a coma with two nurses caring for me.

I didn’t see my treasure for four days. Finally we were discharged to begin a real life. I thanked Dr. Easterday for all his good care and we went home.

Fifty years ago. All because I never said No and we had all those children. I spoke to my first love this morning to ask him to come back just for a little while to celebrate our daughter’s birthday. So far I haven’t felt his presence but I know he’s somewhere nearby.

Thanks for listening to a bit of my life.

Love, Charmaine

2 thoughts on “A Daughter. . .a treasure

Leave a Reply

