Starting Over-a taste of this book

This is later in the book but I’ve always loved this part. I hope you enjoy it as much as I do.

Ater playing tennis, the four friends gather in the whirlpool room. Emily sat alone in the hot water, steam rose all around her. The door opened, wisps danced and settled in disturbed air, Time for a chat with women she’d known since childhood,

Margaret, Jesse, and Shelly eased into the w, ter to surround Emily, the hub of the wheel in this circle of friends.  Bubbles sprang into action, strategically placed jets pulsed to bring comfort to aches and pains. Her friends waited.

“When Larry died suddenly,” Emily spoke in a soft steady voice, “I should’ve left well enough alone. A happy marriage of thirty years is almost more than a person could ask for. Should’ve, would’ve, could’ve.”

The women leaned toward Emily to hear every word over the noise of the pool.

“So I meet this man, great on the exterior; damaged on the inside; I want companionship, he’s starved for love. And the sex is incredible. He’s a walking hard-on. Yes, our time together is one long orgasm. Do you know what I mean?” No one did.

So we get married and he installs a fancy burglar alarm better than the White House and when I accuse him of controlling me, he’s distraught, says he’ll stop looking in the rear view mirror before he loses what’s right in front of him. So we go for a run and he lags behind. Suddenly a stranger appears and Pat’s not around and I run, looking for him. And when I find him, he’s in the water, dead.”

Emily sat dry-eyed. Tears streamed down the faces of her friends.

Emily said, “I never should have let him into my life.”

“Now who’s looking in the rearview mirror,” Shelly said.

“One long orgasm?” Margaret shook her head.

The mood was broken.

I do hope you’ve enjoyed this snip from Starting Over. I sure did. Thanks for stopping by. You can find the book on Amazon, B&N and more. Thanks.

 

Leave a Reply

