Here comes the WIP, for better or worse

Last week, we discovered another character, the doctor who twenty -four years before, delivered Joan’s daughter Shari, now a Captain in the Army. And then to his delight, he discovers beautiful Joan, at the Saturday Skeet Shoot.  They hug as Shari watches from afar and the older couple, both no longer married, make plans for dinner.

excerpt: “Honey, I’m sorry to leave you alone but he’s invited me to dinner and dancing at a club where the music is slow.”

“Mom, it’s fine, I need some rest; the baby bump is wearing me out; she rubbed her tummy in expression.”

The kind doctor sat next to Shari and as a physycian, he had a few questions. “You’ve lived a hectic few years overseas and now, suddenly, you’re a pregnant widow. This is a difficult time for you but pardon my intrusion, my son is divorced, a doctor in practice with me, and he’s lonely so maybe you two can get together.”

Shari gave a laugh, said that would be cool but right now she had to go to the bathroom and away she went in search of the ladies room. Down the hall, she saw men’s room no ladies room in sight so she marched right in to find a man tapping off his privates, then washing his hands. Since she had a serious need to go to the bathroom, she hurried in, finished and left to find the good looking young man still at the sink.

“I thought I saw a woman rush in but couldn’t believe it until I saw your Army shirt.”

“Well sir, I saw more of you than you saw of me.”

Enjoy more snippets:

http://www.wewriwa.com/

 

33 thoughts on “Here comes the WIP, for better or worse

  1. Ha! I’ve been in that position before, when the need was so strong that I had no choice but to go into the men’s room. Luckily, no one was ‘tapping their privates’ when I rushed in. LOL

  2. LOL! We’ve got to stop meeting like this. Talk about having all your curiosities answered right up front!

  3. No. 1, the doctor is very bold in trying to fix up this pregnancy lady with his son.
    No. 2. I would have thought her “Army” shirt might have made the man in the restroom think he’d seen another man instead of a woman.

    Cute way to meet, and I like her comeback to restroom guy.

Leave a Reply

